3 songs that make me feel good about myself

I remember the days when it was cool to like a certain band, and not cool if you still liked the Backstreet Boys (until you were old enough to listen to them “ironically.”) Now, I really don’t give a crap what people think of my music taste. I literally listen and appreciate all music, except for the few bands that I inexplicably dislike (Kings of Leon, U2, and that damn Happy song). When I hear something on the radio that makes me smile and car-dance, that’s all I care about. And when that song has lyrics enforcing positive body image? Even better. I’ve had these three on repeat for the past few days, so now I’m sharing them with you.

3 songs for positive body image!!

1. All About that Bass – Meghan Trainor

Ever since discovering this new hit on Gretchen’s blog, I’ve been obsessed. The style, the beat, the lyrics…all of it! It makes me feel like it’s okay that I’m not a size 0. 

2. Shake It Off – Taylor Swift

This one blew up overnight. By the time this post is up, you’re probably just as obsessed as I am over it. I saw some negative comments online about it before I heard it, and the next day I heard it on the radio but didn’t know it was TaySwift. I was hooked. Then when the song ended and they announced it was her, I was shocked…and then confused as to why people didn’t like it! I don’t care if it’s not “cool” to like her. I think she’s the bees knees, so there.

3. Try – Colbie Caillat

When I first watched this video and heard the song, I cried. She’s so right. You don’t have to try. I hope there are more songs like this in our future, especially for young girls struggling with body image. It’s so important that this message reaches them before it’s too late.

Tell me what song makes you feel good in the comment section below!

Follow me :: bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

One thought on “3 songs that make me feel good about myself

Leave a Reply

