chocolate banana oat cake

This recipe was an accident. A beautiful, wonderful accident. I was about to make my healthy cookies one day, and decided to try and make a chocolate version. One thing led to another, and I was adding new ingredients, changing ratios, which resulted in pancake cookies. Whoops. They still tasted amazing, but would have been better in cake form. Thus, my new favorite recipe ever was born.

Chocolate Oat Cake: uses oats instead of flour, coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and bananas for sweetener!

This recipe makes four individual servings, so it will impress your guests but you won’t have leftovers to pick at devour the following days. The best part is that it’s 100% healthier than any boxed mix or store-bought cake. To lighten it up, I used coconut oil (healthy fats!) instead of vegetable oil, nut butter instead of regular butter, and oats in place of white flour.

Chocolate Banana Oat Cake [better for you]

Despite the healthy ingredient swaps, this cake is amazingly flavorful and moist. I tested it out on my fiance, and he approved! To make it even more fun, I’ve topped it with vanilla icing. Or, if your feeling adventurous, try adding fresh berries and whipped cream!

[yumprint-recipe id=’31’]

follow me

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

Leave a Reply

