chewy healthy cookies (sugar free)

This is actually an older recipe of mine that used to be called “truly guilt free cookies” because of their healthy ingredients, but I don’t think the word “guilt” should ever be associated with food. You should never feel guilty about eating anything (unless you like stole it from a child). I’ve also re-photographed the cookies for your viewing pleasure, and put the recipe into a printable format. This is a favorite of mine, so I want to be sure it gets noticed. Enjoy!

chewy healthy cookies! The only sugar comes from the chocolate chips if you choose to add them.

You’ve probably seen other “healthy cookie” recipes floating around the internet. They always suck me in but then I’m let down when I see “1 cup sugar” in the ingredients. This recipe tastes just as good but without the refined sugar. The mashed bananas give the dough it’s sweetness, but the raisins are the star of the show. Add the chocolate chips and you’ve hit the trifecta! (Although they won’t be entirely sugar free, but a few chocolate chips is nothing compared to the additional sugar in other cookies!) These are gluten free and dairy free, so just about anyone can enjoy them! They are sweet, moist, and chewy, and you can’t even tell they’re made without sugar or flour.

DSC_1312

[yumprint-recipe id=’27’]Chewy healthy cookies...no sugar OR flour! Gluten free, dairy free, and almost sugar free (except the chocolate chips)

Sometimes I use almond extract instead of vanilla to create a different flavor. You can also try white chocolate chips with dried cranberries for something festive, or any other add-ins you may think of!

*The Siplat liner is KEY for cookies. Go to Home Goods and purchase one, you won’t regret it!

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

8 thoughts on “chewy healthy cookies (sugar free)

  1. Pingback: food you won’t find in my kitchen | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: a day in the life of the bandit | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Ashley, these are perfect! I have been looking for this recipe for my diabetic father and for us semi-vegan, gluten free family. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • wonderful! So glad you liked them. Make sure to either omit the chocolate chips for 100% sugar free cookies, or use Enjoy Life chocolate chips for vegan!!

      • I only put one blueberry or one craisin on top of the cookie. I made 4 batches already and it hadn’t been a week yet. The first two batches I used the left over almond butter. The last two was with crunchy peanut butter. I put about a cup of chopped walnuts in there to boost Omega 3. We love the recipe because it’s not too sweet and has a nutty taste to them. Talk about guilt free treats! Thank you so much for sharing.
        Now I have to search for a sugarfree, gluten free mango cake recipe by Sunday. Do you have any suggestions?

      • That sounds delicious! I’m glad you’re having fun with it! A mango cake sounds delicious but I’m not sure I’ve ever heard of one! Maybe you could try it like a pineapple upside-down cake but use mango instead?

      • Hello Ashley,

        I found this recipe for Flourless Mango Cake – http://chocolatechillimango.com/2010/12/07/nuts-about-mango-cake/#.U92-h_ldXuI
        It sounds very good but I don’t intend to use any sugar, ok, maybe a pinch then make a mango glaze for it. The glaze has lots of powdered sugar (from you tube) so I’m thinking of using a tiny bit of cornstarch to thicken and cut the sugar.
        I will let you know how it turns out. If it turns out well I will figure out how to post a photo to share. LOL…wish me luck, I need it otherwise a quick trip to Kroger to pick up one.
        This is for my son’s birthday. I thought he wanted oatmeal cookie birthday cake as usual (that’s why I was searching and luckily found you!) but I bought a mango glazed cake for his brother and now he wants one for his.
        Happy Sunday!

  4. Hello Ashley, I like the new picture.
    I think I must have made nearly 200 of these cookies already. This is my favorite and becoming the only cookie recipe.
    Thank you, again for sharing.

Leave a Reply

