What I Ate Wednesday: New Discoveries

Wednesday means it’s What I Ate Wednesday, where I show you everything I’ve been eating lately. Except I don’t photograph every single thing I eat, so this is only a little glimpse. If that were the case you’d see a zillion photos of jelly beans piled on my desk and other things I’m embarrassed to admit (like the half a jar of chocolate almond butter I ate by the spoonful). So I’m kind of cheating and just throwing this post together based on the food photos on my iPhone. But I’ll make it good, I promise.

Still grilling a lot lately, because it’s fast, easy, and healthy…three adjectives which don’t often fit together in one sentence. The other night I picked some basil leaves from the garden and made pesto. Ohhhh my god it was amazing. Classico pesto ain’t got NOTHIN on me.

pesto chicken and grilled veggies

I found a box of Vega Protein Bars at Marshall’s for 8 buckaroos, so of course I snatched that right up and have pretty much been eating one every day (all about convenience, people). I’m almost out!

vega bars

I made my Healthy Chicken Salad over the weekend so I could re-shoot it. I’m planning on making more tonight for dinner, it’s so refreshing on a humid summer day.

Healthy chicken salad using greek yogurt instead of mayo - you'll never know the difference!

I don’t remember the last time I picked up a coffee on the way to work, and yesterday I was really dragging ass so I decided to treat myself to an almond milk latte from the Java Room. It hit the spot, and I love that they have almond milk! Starbucks, get ON that.

IMG_5585

I received a spiralizer as a gift and I am eternally grateful for it. I tried it out for the first time last night and made this zucchini noodle pad thai and I am officially obsessed! I can’t wait to try a zillion more recipes with this baby.

spiralizer

spiralized zucchini pad thai

I’m back on the pancake wagon again. This morning was blueberry flax pancakes topped with chocolate almond butter and some hemp hearts. So. Good. Fact: It’s impossible to have a bad day when you have pancakes for breakfast.

I also had some cold brewed iced coffee, no sugar or milk needed! To do this, I ground a cup of beans in a food processor, and then soaked them in 5 cups of water for 24 hours. Then I filtered it through a coffee filter and BOOM, perfect iced coffee.

blueberry flax protein pancakes

So there you have it! Thanks to Jen over at Peas and Crayons for hosting this week’s What I Ate Wednesday! Check out some of these past WIAW’s:

WIAWbutton1

What have you been eating?

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: New Discoveries

  1. So true about pancakes for breakfast, except for me it’s waffles for dinner! Never fails to make things better after a particularly rough day. That pad thai sounds amazing, I really need to get on getting a spiralizer.

Leave a Reply

