guayusa-what? Runa tea review

It seems as though I’ve been on a never-ending quest for natural energy ever since the pre-workout heart palpitation incident. I’m pretty sure I’m giving up on the pre-workout thing. All I need is a good night’s sleep and the right food to fuel my morning workouts. Since that doesn’t always work out, it’s good to have something to give me that extra kick in the pants. I try not to drink too much coffee, only because I don’t like it black, but I don’t want to add more sugar to my diet. Tea is my go-to for a caffeine boost. Tea is gentle. It makes me feel spiritual, kind of like Buddha. Yes, a latte is delicious and will jolt you awake, but tea gives you that special zen energy….zenergy (see what I did there?).

I’ve recently discovered Runa tea, brewed from the guayasa leaf and packing as much energy as a cup of coffee but TWICE the antioxidants as a cup of green tea. It’s also organic, and fair trade certified. Maybe that means nothing to you, but it makes me feel a whole lot better about drinking it. I got to try all their bottled teas and the two sparkling clean energy drinks. They also have dried teas available. My favorite bottle was the lemon lemongrass, though they are all delicious. When I try to make my own iced tea it always tastes bitter, but Runa teas are smooth and have no bitter aftertaste! Do you know how rare that is? Four of them are sweetened with organic cane sugar, and they are only 50 calories a bottle (most bottled drinks are actually two servings so they trick you by saying it’s X amount of calories, but that’s usually referring to half the bottle). The other two are unsweetened, and are 0 calories.

Runa tea review

The Berry Sparkling Energy drink was my favorite out of all of them. Typically I don’t like carbonated drinks (except beer, duh), but this was sooo good! The other carbonated drink was just called “original” flavor and was unsweetened, and tasted mostly like seltzer water. It wasn’t bad, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the Berry flavor! I’d definitely recommend Berry for someone who’s trying to wean themselves off those awful Monster or Rockstar energy drinks. 

If you’re still not convinced, let me tell you that my fiance also tried all the bottled teas and loved them! I had to make sure he didn’t drink them all before I tried them. Be sure to check out their very well-designed website to see what they’re all about!

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for this post, but I did receive product in exchange for a review. All opinions are 100% honest and my own.

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

4 thoughts on “guayusa-what? Runa tea review

Leave a Reply

