low-calorie watermelon cocktail

Before the blog was a blip in my brain, I was experimenting with frozen watermelon in drinks. I blended it up with some ingredients I had on hand, and it surprisingly came out great. The other night, Becky and I were in the mood for something light and refreshing to go with our dinner. Fortunately, I had just frozen some watermelon the other day, so I whipped up some of these watermelon cocktails. I wish I came up with a better name than “low-calorie watermelon cocktail,” but that’s all I got. Feel free to come up with a better one to impress your guests 🙂

Low-calorie watermelon cocktail | The Pomegranate Bandit

Watermelon makes for the perfect mixer because it takes the place of sugary syrups typically used to sweeten the drink and take the bite off the alcohol. This way, you can still enjoy your drink without the extra calories from sugar. I used vodka, but I’m sure it would be good with rum or even tequila! 

[yumprint-recipe id=’25’]cheers

The only downside is that it separates as it sits, so serve with a swizzle stick to stir it up before sipping. Cheers!

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

One thought on “low-calorie watermelon cocktail

  1. Pingback: Treats and Travels

Leave a Reply

