what I ate on Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day was extra special this year because I was able to spend it with both my mother and soon-to-be mother-in-law. Now that DK and I have a home with more than three rooms total, we are able to host holidays such as these. We have only been living in our new house for two weeks, but I couldn’t wait to host my first brunch.

On the menu: Yogurt Bar // Zucchini Goat Cheese Quiche // Bacon // Grilled Sausage // Baked French Toast // Fresh Pressed Carrot Apple Grapefruit Juice // Mimosas // Hot & Iced Coffee 

Brunch Ideas: Fresh berries for a yogurt bar

I’ve been waiting for an excuse to use this triple-bowl dish thingy. It’s probably the main reason I had a yogurt bar. I had fun picking at the leftover berries the last few days as well…I need to buy them more often!

Beverage Bar for brunch: fresh coffee, cold coffee, fresh juice

We made a giant pot of coffee the night before and put it in the fridge so guests could choose between hot coffee and iced coffee. I also busted out the juicer so I could squeeze (pun intended) a little healthiness into the day…fresh carrot/apple/grapefruit juice! There was also orange juice and plenty of champagne for mimosas. I was all about the mimosas!

Mother's Day Brunch

We served pure maple syrup made by DK’s dad and our friends up north with the baked french toast, which was a huge hit. I prepared it the night before and baked it just as guests were arriving. It’s definitely NOT healthy though…I was shocked when the recipe called for TWO cups of cream. Did I read that right? Yes, it says 2 cups. But it was damn good.

Moms

We were blessed with beautiful weather, so we spent the entire day on our porch. After eating, the men played a game of bocce ball while the ladies took some photos and talked wedding details. (!)

Hammock

There is a huge crabapple tree right by the porch that was in full bloom. It was the perfect Mother’s Day backdrop. We enjoyed watching the bees buzz around the flowers!

BumbleBee

The whole day was like a dream. I’m so thankful I have such a wonderful family and a beautiful home to share with them. Since I was busy hosting, I wasn’t overeating to avoid being socially awkward…something I tend to do at parties and get-togethers. I made myself a plate and sat down to enjoy it bite by bite, and even had seconds. 

For dinner, DK and I grilled up some burgers and peppers while gazing at the tree and taking it all in. I finished off the champagne and added some crushed blackberries to my glass…another genius idea like my iced coffee discovery!

Thanks to Jen over at Peas and Crayons for hosting this week’s What I Ate Wednesday!

WIAWbutton1

where to find me:

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

3 thoughts on “what I ate on Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

