the strangest thing happened to me

Okay everyone, story time. I consider myself to be a relatively healthy person. I don’t have food allergies or any other health issues, because I take care of myself. Or so I thought…

A few weeks ago, I was just about to drift off to sleep when I felt a weird fluttering sensation in my chest. It happened a few more times throughout the week, and then the week after that it happened more frequently. When I got to work yesterday, it was pretty much non-stop and I mentioned it to my coworkers. Luckily, I work for a company that makes defibrillators, so we set one up to look at my heart rate. You can plainly see where it’s happening on the waveform, see where it goes flat a few times? That is a premature ventricular contraction (but I still have no idea what that means).

IMG_4863

One of my coworkers is a nurse and she advised I see my doctor ASAP. I was pretty freaked out at this point, so I went straight to my doctor where they did another reading, and sent me to cardiology for a 48 hour heart monitor to figure this out. I’m not in any pain or anything, it just feels like a never ending panic attack in my chest…so that’s fun. And wearing this thing makes me feel like a 90-year old. I’m supposed to press a button every time I feel my heart flutter.

IMG_4878

At least I can count on DK to keep my spirits up…he didn’t waste any time making jokes about my heart monitor:

“Do you get cable?”

“Are you wearing a wire!?”

“What if it’s downloading everything you know…”

“I think your beeper just went off.”

One thing I’m really bummed about is the fact that I can no longer participate in Muckfest tomorrow. I was SO excited to finally do a mud run, but I can’t get this wet so I will have to be a volunteer instead. They also told me not to exercise at all this weekend. I’m going to go CRAZY. But I guess my body could use the rest.

As for what’s causing this…we don’t know. It could be stress, or it could be the pre-workout I’ve been taking. I told the doctor about it but she didn’t seem to think that was the case…but just to be safe I’m going to stop taking it and see what happens.

aminoenergy

 

Has something similar ever happened to you?

follow me

bloglovin’  // twitter // instagram // Pinterest // facebook // Google+

13 thoughts on “the strangest thing happened to me

  1. Yikes! I had a small lump in my abdomen I was convinced was a hernia or tumor…well, it went away. Seems it was a bruise from working out! Best of luck for something totally benign and a fluke!

  2. I get these often and the cause is ALWAYS anxiety. If you tend to internalize your stress (or try to hide it most of the time) then this is how your body reacts. I hate it. I feel like I’m having a small panic attack, and sometimes my chest tightens up along with the fluttering. Stress does terrible things to your body.

  3. Hope you got it sorted buddy- I know that MANY pre workout/intraworkout supplements tend to have strange effects- Me and a mate both tried out several and some side affects included getting red rashes, crazy heart rates and crashing randomly in the afternoon- wise decision to stop taking it for a while!

  4. I work in the cardiology clinic at Children’s hospital, and while I’m not a nurse or anything (I do scheduling/administrative stuff), I can say that we see a lot of patients with PVCs. From what I know they’re fairly common and can usually be managed, but it’s definitely good you saw a cardiologist and got an event monitor. I hope you feel better and get it sorted out! Heart problems are no fun.

  5. Pingback: exciting news and vega bar reviews | The Pomegranate Bandit

  6. Pingback: 6 things making me happy right now | The Pomegranate Bandit

  7. Hmm, that’s pretty strange, there’s only a small amount of caffeine in that product. I think each serving has like half the caffeine of a cup of coffee, but I can’t remember for sure.

    • I know! That’s why I bought it, for the low caffeine dosage. It is possible that it was another ingredient that I was reacting to, because other forms of caffeine are fine.

Leave a Reply

