this week’s obsessions

Do you ever get obsessed with something random like pancakes and then you eat them everyday for a few weeks until you’re totally over it? Yeah. I do that all the time. I’m not just talking about food, it happens with everything in my life…and these are my most recent obsessions:

1. Sweet potatoes

Sweet potato

I’ve always loved sweet potatoes…but went through a weird phase the past few months where I couldn’t stand them. Until I realized I was actually eating yams, and yams ARE different than sweet potatoes, contrary to popular belief. My grocery store sells the sweet potatoes that come individually shrink-wrapped in plastic, and you just pop it in the microwave for 6 minutes and you have yourself a fake-baked sweet potato. It’s REALLY good, and so easy! I usually add some coconut butter and it tastes like a dessert.

2. QuizUp

IMG_4806 QuizUp app

DK and I like to watch Jeopardy because we’re basically 90 years old and sit there and play along while we eat Werther’s Originals in our rocking chairs. But it’s only a 30 minute show and I get sad when it’s over because I’m all amped up for more trivia. I searched for some trivia-based apps and found QuizUp, and ever since…I can’t get enough. I’ve already reached “Quidditch Seeker” level on the Harry Potter topic.

3. Pre-workout drink

aminoenergy

The last time I tried a pre-workout sample, it felt like I drank six cups of coffee and my heart was literally beating out of my chest. I vowed to never take one again…but then broke that vow when I ordered some Grape Amino Energy last month. I guess I just want to see if it really works? I only take half the dose so I don’t get jittery, but I haven’t figured out if it really works or if it’s all in my head. Tastes pretty good though and gets me focused and ready for a workout.

4. Broccoli

sweet potato cakes and broccoli

Lots and lots of broccoli. This has become a new staple in my food prep routine. Typically I serve green beans or asparagus with dinner, but lately I’m all about the broc. No butter, just plain, steamed, broccoli.

5. Weight-lifting

weights

I’m SO happy I started a real lifting routine again. I can’t even stress it enough how much I noticed an improvement in my mood during and after a workout. I’ve been using visualization as a tool for me to meet my goals, and it’s really helping. I honestly don’t know how, but it’s like a switch in my brain. I’m a weight lifter, I eat lots of protein and crush it at the gym, I don’t want that doughnut. Just like that. (yes, I said “crush it at the gym”)

What are your recent obsessions?

find me:

2 thoughts on “this week’s obsessions

  1. I love Quiz Uo! I am all about the spelling though – bookworm over here!
    I have just been catching up with your blog and I feel like we have very similar tastes and then some very different ones. You’ve given me different views to evaluate, I like the way you keep things short and sweet but you post pretty often. Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

