Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Truffles

Ever had those Brookside chocolate pomegranate candies? Those things are so dangerous. I used to tell myself they were healthy because I actually thought there were real pomegranate seeds in there, but after reading the ingredients it turns out I was wrong. These things are full of unpronounceable ingredients, along with a number of fruit juice concentrates. One of them is pomegranate juice concentrate, so I guess that’s why they can legally say they’re pomegranate flavored. 

A few months ago, I bought some Navitas pomegranate powder from vitacost.com with intentions of putting it in smoothies. (this one came out great!) Lately, I’ve been trying to find other ways to get my daily dose of pomegranate since they’re out of season. I’m also trying to find healthier ways to satisfy my sweet tooth. So, I created these little truffles so I can get my fix of pomegranate AND chocolate. 

Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Truffles....tastes just like Brookside candies! | The Pomegranate Bandit

These truffles are a tad healthier because I’m using 85% cacao dark chocolate and pomegranate powder instead of those funky ingredients found in Brookside candies. The pomegranate powder is raw, organic, kosher, gluten free, and packed with antioxidants, vitamin C, and potassium. I know it’s kind of expensive and random, but it’s totally worth it because you can use it in yogurt, smoothies and juices. Maybe even cocktails! Plus, it lasts a really long time, and you don’t have to deal with seeding a pomegranate for an hour.

Here is the recipe for the truffles, enjoy!

[yumprint-recipe id=’20’]

more places to find me:

One thought on “Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Truffles

  1. Pingback: Treats and Travels | Giving up Desserts for LentTreats and Travels

Leave a Reply

