that time I had my eyebrow pierced

If you’ve read my story, you know that I’ve tried on quite a few different…looks..in my early years. I don’t regret any of it, and I’m not ashamed. It’s all just part of the process of growing up (does it ever end?) and I think everyone goes through some sort of discovery phase. I wanted so badly to fit in, but at the same time I wanted to express my individuality. In college, I decided to get my eyebrow pierced because I thought it looked pretty cool on Fergie. Turns out it didn’t look so good on me (I took it out after a few months).

IMGP7291

^sweet hemp necklace

These days, I don’t have as many piercings and I ditched the black eyeliner. Those are things that are easy to control. The shape of my body, not so much. Exactly one year ago I was trying to lose weight for an upcoming vacation. I did P90X and all kinds of dieting, just so I wouldn’t look like a whale standing next to my friends in our beach photos. I turned down all desserts and worked out every day, all because I just wanted to fit in. Seems like something I’ll never grow out of, right?

IMG_4692

^When this photo was taken, body image was the last thing on my mind because I was laughing too hard.

With no vacations on the calendar this year, I’ve started becoming more lax in my training and eating habits. I don’t go to the gym every single day, and when I do, I don’t go HAM. Just enough to get my heart rate up. I went all-out in NYC, enjoying pasta (gasp!) and all kinds of pastries. Last weekend, we went out to eat three times. And I got pasta, again! I just don’t try as hard as I used to, and it’s okay. I’m never going to be ripped like the fitness professionals I follow on Instagram, because they are professionals, and I’m your average twenty-something just trying to be healthy and happy.

I’m not saying I’ve let myself go, because I would never stop working out or eating healthy. I actually like going to the gym and eating clean. It’s just that sometimes I like sleeping better, and sometimes I want pizza instead of quinoa. And I realized that in order to “fit in,” I’d have to work really, really hard, and it’s just not worth it. I’m okay with having arms that jiggle a little bit, because I don’t want to spend more than an hour at the gym a day and I’d like to continue eating pizza.

Thanks to Spoons for letting me word vomit again for today’s Thinking Out Loud!

link up

Have you ever done anything weird or crazy to fit in?

follow the yellow brick road:

6 thoughts on “that time I had my eyebrow pierced

  1. This is something that I’ve been realizing more and more as I get older too — I’m just not willing to put in the kind of effort it takes to look a certain way because it doesn’t feel worth it anymore. I just can’t justify spending hours working out and passing on all the food I love just to be a few pounds lighter, when I can look perfectly fine and eat more or less what I want while working out to stay healthy. Oh the things I would go back to tell my younger self…

  2. Such good points! I think after years of hating on ourselves we find that happy medium. I often wonder why I wasted so much time analyzing every bite I put into my mouth when ultimately what matters is the bigger picture. Eating clean and exercising is so important, but so is indulging every once in a while!

  3. Such a good post !!!! I have been becoming very lax with my training as well.. not really an vacations to look forward to and summer seems still far away. Sometimes I feel like I should be eating healthy all the time and feel guilty because these people on instagram and pintrest have the best bodies ever but I have to remind myself they do this for a living. I also want to enjoy life and PASTA like you said !!! 🙂

  4. To be old and wise…I did the hemp necklace thing, I dyed my hair all kinds of colors…and pierced my ears a ton- four on each one (dad would’ve killed me if I had any other holes in my body!). But looking back I don’t regret (most) of it. It was a part of me growing up, On the health side…well, a lot of my recent posts talk about how I am trying to eat normal again after years of restricting. Its a mental challenge but chocolate is worth it 🙂

  5. Pingback: overcoming a workout slump | The Pomegranate Bandit

  6. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud [9] | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

