Chicken Soup with Quinoa and Kale

So technically it is spring time over here in New England, but I’m still wearing my heavy coat, furry boots, and thick-knit scarves. Apparently this is supposed to be the last freezing week until December, but I won’t believe it until I see it. The one good thing about this relentless cold? Comfort food! I guess not having to shave your legs is a good thing too, unless you’re next to me at hot yoga. No, I’m not Chewbacca, just lazy (I can do a really good Chewy noise though, one of my many hidden talents).

Anyway, I love making soup because it’s easy (yep, definitely just lazy). Simmer some stuff in a pot and BAM, dinner. My favorite has always been chicken noodle soup, until I discovered butternut squash soup, but I’ve definitely had more than enough of that over the past few months. On a whim, I decided to try making chicken noodle soup sans the noodles…but with quinoa instead. I added some peas and kale for a little green action, and it actually came out really good!

Chicken Soup with Quinoa and Kale | The Pomegranate Bandit

This recipe is fool-proof, and it tastes just as good a day or two later. I like to make a giant pot and back up some containers to take to work.

[yumprint-recipe id=’19’]You could always use baby spinach instead of baby kale if you want, and if you can’t find tricolor quinoa, you can use any other type. 

Chicken Soup with Quinoa and Kale | The Pomegranate Bandit

What’s your favorite kind of soup?

follow the bandit:

Leave a Reply

