when blogging is too much

When Blogging is Too Much | The Pomegranate Bandit

They say too much of anything is bad. It’s so easy to get caught up in this virtual world of people who share the same interests as me. There’s always a new post to read, a tweet to favorite, a recipe to pin. I’m positive I wouldn’t utilize social media as much as I do now if I weren’t a blogger. It’s actually becoming quite stressful, because I fear I’ll just slip away and disappear forever if I’m not tweeting, posting, commenting, etc. I see so many posts along the lines of: “how to grow your blog,” “get more followers with these 5 easy steps,” and “765 ways to be a popular blogger!” Agh.

Before I had my own blog, I could count on one hand the number of blogs I followed. I never missed a post, I paid close attention to every word and seriously considered everything they wrote about. I decided to start this blog so I could share my own experiences with healthy living. It’s not a well-known blog, but it’s my baby, and I love it. I can’t dedicate as much time as I’d like, since it’s a hobby, and not a money maker like other blogs out there. 

office

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want more readers and opportunities. It’s hard not to compare myself to other bloggers and feel jealous sometimes. But here’s the thing…they do this full-time. They aren’t blogging on top of 40 hours a week at another job, so they have plenty of time to do all the things I wish I could.

I try to stay involved with the blogging community, but how much is too much? The past few days I didn’t have time to read blogs or catch up on social media, and it was lovely. Like finding balance with healthy eating, I need to find balance with my involvement online. How can I live my life if I’m constantly checking what others are doing? It’s almost as if blogging has backfired on me. I’m trying to share all these experiences, but I’m wasting valuable time that could be used to experience more.

Thank you, Spoons for giving me an excuse to Think Out Loud!

link up

Tell me your thoughts! Do you ever feel this way?

follow the bandit:

5 thoughts on “when blogging is too much

  1. I feel you on this one. I have a constant comparison, blog guilt, obsession thing going on. I kind of detoxed the past couple days and it actually did feel very refreshing. It’s a tough balance but we just have to do what works for us in whatever mood we’re in. I think the balance will probably (hopefully) come that way?

  2. Blogging can definitely feel overwhelming sometimes. There’s literally ALWAYS something more you can do, and I found that it takes a lot of time to fall into a good groove where you’re feeling balanced with it. Heck, I’ve been in the blog world for a few years, and while I feel pretty good with where I’m at, there are times where it still tends to get away from me. I do love blogging, but the occasional break is definitely necessary.

  3. I love this post. I feel the same way, just last week I only posted once and at first felt completely stressed about it. But when it came down to writing a post, I didn’t feel like it. I felt like being with friends or family and experiencing life just as you described it. Blogging is a great hobby, and I’m so happy I finally hopped on board but there are times it can become too much.

Leave a Reply

