farro with caramelized butternut squash

If quinoa freaks you out, you should consider trying farro instead. About a month ago, my trainer hosted an informal nutrition lesson at our gym. Fifteen of us squeezed into the smallest office ever as he presented some of his favorite foods. Among these, was farro. He explained that this hearty grain is so high in protein that it doesn’t even need to be accompanied by meat. This piqued my interest, since I’m not the biggest fan of meat lately (I’ve been watching too many documentaries). I bought some that day. Then it sat in the pantry for a few weeks next to the quinoa. I imagine they have become good friends.

Eventually it made it’s way to my stovetop one night when I was feeling creative. I had half a butternut squash, an onion, and some spinach. Boom, dinner. After the first bite, I got really excited. I mean, I always get excited over food, but when I create something and it comes out AMAZING, I get extra excited because I want to share it with you. Drumroll please! Introducing the amazing, filling, meatless, farro creation!

Farro with Caramelized Butternut Squash. Packed with protein, veggies, and great taste. | The Pomegranate Bandit

This meal makes excellent leftovers. I’ve made it three times in two weeks and brought it to work for lunch almost everyday…and I get compliments on how good it smells! Since there isn’t any meat, it can be vegetarian if you use vegetable stock. It could also be vegan if you skip the cheese and use oil instead of butter, but I don’t recommend it. The butter really brings out the flavor of the squash and onions, and the cheese ties the whole dish together.

Like quinoa, you have to rinse farro before cooking it. Don’t skip this step! Otherwise, you’ll end up with some nasty ish in your dish. Nobody wants that.

Farro with Caramelized Butternut Squash {vegetarian!} | The Pomegranate Bandit

[yumprint-recipe id=’18’]

2 thoughts on “farro with caramelized butternut squash

Leave a Reply

