breaking through the wall with Bikram Yoga

I’ve hit the wall. You may have noticed I haven’t been posting as much as usual. Yes, I have been busy, but also insanely uninspired. I have plenty of stale post ideas floating around, but I just haven’t felt like it. Lately, all I want to do is just curl up and knit while watching bad TV on Netflix. This relentless winter hasn’t helped at all. I’m pretty sure that’s the cause of this weird slump I’m in. There’s been a lot of spontaneous crying, and I suspect it’s Seasonal Affective Disorder, because I am definitely not prego (yup, SAD is a real thing, with an ironically appropriate acronym).

winter sucks

When K10 mentioned she was going to try Bikram Yoga, I jumped at the chance to accompany her. Well, I pretty much assumed the position as her guru and launched into a speech about the class and what she should bring, etc. Remember when my New Year’s Resolution was to get back into Bikram Yoga? My body has been craving it. Confession time: I’ve really been abusing my body the past few weeks by binge eating junk food, resulting in crappy workouts and mood swings (sticking to my story and blaming Seasonal Affective Disorder). Yes, the holier than thou healthy living blogger still struggles. By Friday, I was so disgusted with myself and ready for a change, so it seemed kismet that K10 mentioned Bikram.

Bikram Yoga Background:

Bikram yoga is a type of hot yoga. The studio is heated to 105°F, and there are 26 postures total with two breathing exercises. The class is 90 minutes long; the first 50 minutes a series of standing and balance poses, the remaining portion are on the floor. Each class is exactly the same, same postures with the same dialogue by the instructor, verbatim. The health benefits range from curing physical ailments to psychological issues and everything in between. If you have some time, check out some videos and testimonials, it’s pretty cool!

Resources:

Back to Bikram

On Saturday, I woke up with a positive attitude and stepped into the familiar smelly yoga studio ready to give my body the respect it deserves. I hadn’t been in over a year, so I was unsure of how this would pan out. When I first tried Bikram four years ago, my only form of exercise was moderate jogging a couple times a week. I wasn’t doing any weight training at all, so each pose was a struggle for me, not to mention the oppressing heat. I went to the classes in spurts after that, not really sticking to it for more than a few months at a time. These days, I’m a lot stronger than I was back then, so the poses that used to be difficult were actually a breeze for me! I was so proud of myself for executing a painless triangle pose with ease, and for keeping my arms up throughout the whole chair series. I had K10 snap a few photos after class (she did amazing by the way, especially for a first timer!)

Bikram Yoga

Camel pose and triangle pose, my new favorite. Probably because I have some badass quads to support it! (need to work on sucking in the stomach and getting lower though)

dance/running

It’s amazing what 90 minutes of extreme stretching in a hot room will do for you. The rest of the day I craved healthy foods and felt amazing, and it even carried over into Sunday morning at the gym, when I beat my PR for fastest mile (8:06!). I thought I was going to die or fall off the treadmill during the last minute, but I pushed through. Then I walked for ten minutes, and jogged for another fifteen. While jogging, Danza Kuduro came on and I immediately felt like dancing. I automatically made my stride longer to match the beat of the music…like dance/running. It’s such a good song to run to!

After I was all showered and fed, DK and I went to our favorite coffee house for lattes before grocery shopping. I got an almond flavored latte with almond milk, and he got the Toffee Lover’s latte. It was hard to not chug the damn thing, it was so delicious! A perfect treat to reward my hard work in the yoga studio and gym this weekend.

latte

What kinds of physical activity pull you out of a funk?

What songs get you pumped to dance/run?

more places to find me:

7 thoughts on “breaking through the wall with Bikram Yoga

  1. I really need to try Bikram yoga! I’ve only done tv/dvd yoga in the comfort of my home- so when I fall over and gripe I can’t do a pose no one is around to yell at me 🙂 Sometimes a good walk outside gets me out of a funk, or a really hard weight lifting session helps, too! (new reader here- love your blog!!)

    • Try it! The class is usually a wide range of people from first timers to advanced, which is what’s so great about it. So you won’t be the only one falling over…I am AWFUL with the balance poses so I’m always the one who can’t stay in the pose! Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Welcome back 🙂 I won’t lie, I’m feeling similar to you lately too. Totally blaming on weather … give me sunshine at temps above 30 PLEASE. We all deserve some ‘off’ weeks, and it makes the ‘ON’ weeks even better! Can’t believe camel pose is your favorite. I’d like to call you insane for that! It’s the pose that almost makes me pass out.

    • thanks girl! Triangle is actually my favorite…but I was pretty proud of my camel and it looked most impressive! Next time I’ll be sure to include a photo of me attempting balancing stick, it will be hilarious

  3. I’ve been breaking out into spontaneous tears too! I guess the weather is getting to me as well, and after my latest breakdown earlier this week, I decided it was time to change things up and increase my workouts to 6 days a week instead of the usual 3-4. I run to yoga and zumba always, but especially when I’m in a slump. Yoga always works without fail when I need to let go of some anxiety, and dancing is just amazing in any situation. I really want to try Bikram, but I hate humidity and heat and am afraid to pass out, especially after 90 minutes of it!

    • Try it! The main goal for beginners is just to simply stay in the room. And the best part is, its only 40% humidity so it’s not like a muggy summer day. You won’t know until you try! You can do it 🙂

  4. Hi Sweetie,
    Season Affective Disorder could be hereditary. Your Gamma had it, and I do too. Menopausal women do not do Bikram Yoga ~ imagine a hot flash in there?! So, I went to Florida & I feel much better! There is definitely something about lots of sunshine & light that helps us all feel better. This has been a particularly nasty winter. You will feel better after this weekend when we “spring forward”. Make some of your delicious Butternut Squash Soup while it’s still cold outside! LUMTPB

Leave a Reply

