Gooey Gouda Breakfast Sandwich

Linking up with Jenn over at Peas and Crayons for another What I Ate Wednesday! Instead of showing you every last crumb I’ve eaten today/yesterday/last year, I wanted to share a recipe and talk about food journaling.

I’ve been eating a lot of oats, protein pancakes, and egg whites for breakfast. In attempts to get more veggies into my diet, I whipped up a delicious open-faced egg white sandwich yesterday with mushrooms and tomatoes. Oh, and cheese. Did I mention the cheese? Gooey, melty, gouda cheese. It wasn’t the prettiest creation, but it was soooo delicious.

Gooey Gouda Breakfast Sandwich | The Pomegranate Bandit

Gooey Gouda Breakfast Sandwich with Mushrooms and Tomatoes

Ingredients // 1 slice Ezekiel bread, 2 egg whites, 1 slice smoked gouda, 1 tsp olive oil, 1/8 cup chopped mushrooms, 2 tbsp diced tomatoes

Directions // While the bread toasts, heat olive oil in a small skillet on medium-low. Add the mushrooms and saute until tender, about two minutes. Add the egg whites and tilt the pan to distribute evenly around the mushrooms. Once the egg has just set, flip over and place the gouda on top. Cover the pan for about 30 seconds, or until cheese melts. Slide egg and cheese onto the toast, and sprinkle the tomatoes on top. Enjoy!

Food Journaling

I used to track my food religiously with MyFitnessPal. It definitely helped me out when I was learning to eat healthier, mostly because I started paying attention to the nutritional breakdown of what I was eating. It was a also very helpful for carb cycling when I was doing Jaime Eason’s Livefit program, but since then,  I haven’t used it.

It’s very easy to get caught up in numbers when using apps like that to track food, since they tally up all the calories, sugar, and fat at the end of the day. It was like being graded on my food intake, and it put a lot of pressure on me to meet my calorie goals. Now that I’m practicing hunger directed eating, I don’t want to focus on the numbers.

Food Journaling

Instead of a tracking app, I’ve started physically writing down what I eat. I’m hoping it will hold me more accountable to how much I’m eating to cut down on binges, even though I’m not counting calories. It’s only been two days, so we’ll see how it goes.

What was the best thing you ate today?

Do you track your food intake with an app like MFP or do you keep a journal?

WIAWbutton1

5 thoughts on “Gooey Gouda Breakfast Sandwich

  1. Visiting from the link up at Peas & Crayons! Just wanted to say hi and stop by to see what’s going on. I don’t keep a food journal currently, but I have used My Fitness Pal before and really love it. I’m currently doing a paleo/Whole 30 challenge so with all the healthy eats, I haven’t felt the need to track calories. I really like your idea of physically writing it down. I like that with calendars too. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: healthy breakfast ideas: volume 1 | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

