I ate junk food, and it’s okay

So, funny story, guys. I just wrote this huge post about how I ate too much crap this weekend in extreme detail and BLAH BLAH BLAH. Who cares? Who’d want to read that? I don’t even want to read it. I’ll try this again:

In terms of my eating habits, I did not have a good weekend. Although, if I was your average American, it probably would have been considered normal. Except I’m a health nut, so for me this is not normal.

I made these Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Brownies (I used whole wheat flour instead of white and coconut oil instead of canola oil).Β I ate more than half the pan in one sitting. By sitting I mean standing. At the counter, dropping chocolate chips everywhere as I stuffed my face.

That night I had onion rings. And beer. And it was good.

On Sunday I went overboard on Dorito’s. (I don’t even like them. Do they put crack in there?)

I felt awful about all these things, but you know what? It’s okay. It’s okay that I had onion rings and a beer and crack chips…because these are things that I rarely eat.

And that’s not all I ate last weekend.

I also made a batch of Amanda’s granola bars. They. Are. AMAZING. And healthy!

Granola Bars

I bought lots of healthy foods at Trader Joe’s. I roasted an organic chicken instead of buying a sketchy rotisserie from Market Basket. And now I have a huge container of chicken salad for the week. Yay for food prep!

I utilized my juicer for a liquid lunch:

The Ugly Juice that Tastes Beautiful Recipe | The Pomegranate Bandit

The Ugly Juice that Tastes Beautiful Recipe:

  • 3 cups baby spinach
  • 2 handfuls kale
  • 1 green apple
  • 1/2 orange, peeled
  • 4 large carrots
  • 1 small piece of ginger (1/4″ thick)

We can be so hard on ourselves, and we forget to stop and reflect on the GOOD things we do for our bodies.

The moral of the story is that when you’re feeling like a failure, look past your discrepancies and remember your accomplishments, no matter how small.

6 thoughts on “I ate junk food, and it’s okay

  1. Ashley – this post definitely hits me. I often feel this way after weekends of ‘bad eating’ and have such a hard time getting out of the funk afterward. I know it takes practice. Like you said you ate junk food and you’re OKAY. Seriously, thanks for being open. It’s appreciated !

  2. I’m really proud of you on how positive you are looking at this. Honestly, that’s pretty amazing. Most people would beat themselves up over it, but you have such a positive mindset! I applaud you for that! Love your positivitey. πŸ˜€

  3. I love your attitude. Stuff happens and it’s ok to indulge occasionally.

    What is up with Doritos? I bought a bag thinking it was something I always wanted to binge on so I made a plate of Doritos with cheddar cheese melted over the top – Not what I remembered from my childhood. They really aren’t that great.

Leave a Reply

