WIAW: protein cocoa?

It is extremely cold outside. I think I’ve developed temperature-induced Tourette’s, because every time I step outside, profanity escapes from my mouth. But it is Wednesday, and you know what that means! Here are my eats from yesterday:

breakfast

20140122-090217.jpg

When I got back from the gym, I was so effin’ cold I wanted cocoa immediately. Somehow, I came up with the bright idea of making it with chocolate protein powder. Folks, don’t try this at home. Actually, don’t try it anywhere. Yes, the photo looks delicious but under that frothy layer of chocolatey goodness is a layer of protein powder clumps that cemented to my teeth. I took a few sips before I threw up in my mouth and decided to mark that up as an EPIC FAIL.

Oat Bowl | The Pomegranate Bandit

After that fiasco, I needed a good, hearty breakfast to fill me up for the morning. I’m all about the oats this week. I topped them with almond butter, honey, chia seeds, and raspberries.

tea time

20140114-134132.jpg

Once I got to work, I had my usual morning tea while checking through emails.

snack/lunch/second snack

Delicious Lunch | The Pomegranate Bandit

When I packed my lunch, I took this photo because it all looked so appetizing. So for my snack, I had the yogurt with pomegranate seeds around 11.

I had the salad for lunch at 1:00. It had salmon, pine nuts, goat cheese, baby tomatoes, yellow peppers, baby spinach, and a spoonful of pesto in place of dressing.

Around 3:00, I had the apple for a snack.

dinner

Italian Wedding Soup Recipe

Dinner was Italian Wedding Soup, but I was so hungry I forgot to photograph it, so I’ll have to recycle this image.

dessert

20140122-090149.jpg

While the soup was simmering, I started whipping up these almond butter cookies I’ve been wanting to try. After cleaning up the kitchen, I put two on a plate and put the rest away before I sat down to eat them. I was proud of myself for eating them at the table instead of mindlessly on the couch in front of the TV. They were good, but I’m not sure I’d make them again. They kind of stuck in my teeth. (this didn’t stop me from sneaking another one an hour later. baby steps.)

What was the best thing you ate today?

8 thoughts on “WIAW: protein cocoa?

  1. Hmmm the best thing I ate today was probably some cookie dough I made just because it sounded good. I had a couple bites and put the rest in the freezer because I like it frozen. 🙂 I’ve also been eating at the table without distractions. It’s nice to be able to sit and appreciate food.

  2. I love that you sat down at the table to eat your cookies! Sitting down at a table, eating food on real plates, and doing nothing else but enjoying the experience of the food is something I’m trying to do more often 🙂

  3. Your intake looks delicious!
    I’ve been playing around with my xmas gift crock pot, so the best thing I ate yesterday was the curry cauliflower and chickpea “slop” I made lol

  4. Props on sticking to the cookies at the counter 🙂 I would have inhaled them and then kept going back! I loved the lunch I put together – sweet potato with eggplant, brussels sprouts and tuna salad. Hodgepodge as usual and lovely.

Leave a Reply

