5 ways to stay healthy at your desk job

5 Ways to Stay Healthy at your Desk Job | The Pomegranate Bandit

Manual labor intensive jobs can wreak havoc on the body, but so can desk jobs. Sitting all day usually leads to bad posture, because the body will naturally make itself comfortable and slouch down to focus on the monitor. I’ve been working a full-time desk job for over three years now, and along the way I’ve had to up my game to keep myself from turning into a corporate zombie. These are my five tips on staying healthy and happy at your desk job:

drink water

Staying hydrated will keep you feeling fresh and alert. Instead of chugging coffee all day long, try switching to water after your first cup. Having your own water bottle helps to keep track of your water intake, especially if it’s got measurements printed on it. Everywhere I go, my water goes with me.

photo 2 (1)

keep healthy snacks around

We all have those days where we feel like a bottomless pit and just keep eating and eating. I keep a giant jar of almonds on my desk for a quick fix–and to keep me from dipping into the candy dish. All I need is a handful to boost my energy and hold me over until my next meal.

photo 1 (1)

use a balance disc

I discovered the balance disc from a coworker and immediately hopped on amazon to order one. It forces you to sit up straight and helps fix back pain.

photo 3 (1)

stand while you work

Another coworker turned me on to a standing workstation, and we found these on amazon. There are tons out there, some of them are adjustable so you can work sitting, and then raise the desk and stand. Ours are basically just boxes to raise our huge iMacs, but when I want to sit, I simply move my wireless mouse and keyboard onto my real desk and tilt the monitor down. I’ve had it for a few months, and I can’t imagine going back to sitting all day. Standing gives me more energy and makes me feel more productive. It also increases circulation and makes my back feel so much better!

photo 2

feng shui your space

I hate being surrounded by grey everywhere, so I plastered my cube walls with some of my work as well as inspiring quotes from Pinterest, and bought some indoor plants for my desk. Using my own mug makes it way more homey as well, and is much better for the environment!

photo 3

What ways do you stay healthy at your desk job?

 

12 thoughts on “5 ways to stay healthy at your desk job

  1. Even though I’m not a full time corporate zombie (though I have been a desk bound secretary at a dental office during one particularly odd summer), I am a student and I feel like all I ever do is sit for long periods of time. Luckily, being an art major lets me take part in studio classes where I get to move around. These tips are great. Love the idea of the balance disk and the standing desk!

  2. Great tips! I love the balance disc. I want a varidesk stand up desk but it isn’t in my budget right now. Instead I opted for a $60 yoga ball chair.

  3. Pingback: Pin It Party | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

