on unwinding, freestyle workouts, and healthy snacks

Hi folks! Today I’m guest posting on Joy Laughter Sweat. I hope you’ll head over there to check out Katy’s blog and my featured recipe, Israeli Couscous with Pesto, Chicken, & Veggies!

So, how’s everyone doing? I thought I’d update you guys on what I’ve been up to lately in the gym and the kitchen…and my recent discovery on unwinding after a rough day.

sometimes you just need norah

Work got really stressful yesterday right around 4:00, so when I got home I immediately poured myself some cabernet sauvignon, turned up Norah Jones on Spotify, and just zoned out by the fire. Actually, it was a candle, because we don’t have a fireplace. As I sat there, I realized it wasn’t the wine that I needed, but the calming music and mesmerizing flames flame. I stare at a 27″ iMac all day at work, and typically go straight to my macbook, iPad, or TV when I get home. Taking some time to just sit and relax was a nice change, and something I’d like to do everyday now.

working out…freestyle

Still working out 5-6 days a week. I’ve started doing my cardio before my strength training just to switch it up, and I actually prefer doing it first now to get it out of the way. As for the strength training, I have been “freestyling” as I like to call it. I tried one new workout this week that I wrote myself, but the rest of my workouts were unplanned circuits. This means I’ll do some bicep curls and think of my next move while I do them, instead of having it pre-planned on a piece of paper.

Circuit Training | The Pomegranate Bandit

I also joined Fit Framed to share my circuit workouts. If you’re looking for a new workout you should check out my gallery.

My trainer is getting really popular with everyone at the gym, so I booked him every Thursday all the way up until July. A lot of people feel like this is a waste of money, but he pushes me further than I could ever push myself, and I think it’s 100% worth it.

what I’m eating

I’m back on the protein pancake kick. I’ve had them for breakfast the past three days with fresh blueberries and a sliced banana. SO. GOOD.

Protein Pancakes | The Pomegranate Bandit

A week ago we ended up going out to dinner a few times for various reasons, but I’m proud to say we’ve cooked every day this past week with plenty of leftovers for lunches. This was our menu:

SUNDAY – Stuffed Chicken w/Kale and Toasted Pine Nuts

MONDAY – Steak w/Asparagus and Sweet Potato Fries

TUESDAY – Chicken Parm w/ Whole Wheat Pasta & Asparagus

WEDNESDAY – Chicken Fried Rice

THURSDAY – American Chop Suey

FRIDAY – Turkey Meatloaf w/Mexican Rice & Veggies < recipe coming soon!

I’ve been snacking on baby carrots (ummm did you see yesterday’s post?), almonds, apples, greek yogurt, etc. All the usual suspects. UNTIL….I saw this at the grocery store:

KIND Bars on Sale

I grabbed one of each, and then some, so I am well stocked with KIND bars for a long time. I want to use them for treats or emergency only snacks, since some do have chocolate and all of them have lots of sugar. I’m actually more partial to Larabars since they have less ingredients, but I couldn’t resist this display.

Questions for the comments:

How do you relax after a rough day?

What is your favorite healthy snack?

3 thoughts on “on unwinding, freestyle workouts, and healthy snacks

    • I use one from Muffin Topless: 1/4 cup oat flour (which is about 1/2 cup regular oats and then I blend them until it’s a powder), 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/4 cup greek yogurt, 1 egg white, 1 tablespoon milk (I use almond milk and add a little bit more than that) and I also add cinnamon. First mix the dry ingredients and then add the wet. It’s a pretty thick mixture, so you might have to spread it onto the pan with a spoon instead of simply pouring it like regular pancake batter.

Leave a Reply

