christmas recap, recipe reviews, and random musings

I hope everyone had a fabulous holiday break, I know I did! I only had two days off last week, but I was luck to get Christmas Eve off because our company decided to last minute. I wasn’t planning on doing a full recap of the whole week, so I didn’t take many photos because I wanted to just relax and enjoy myself. These are the few that came out of my break:20131230-082249.jpgclockwise from top left:

Kristen’s Christmas Party

I had so much fun with my friends that poor DK had to drag me out of there a little earlier than everyone else because he had to work the next day. This was also the only normal photo we have from that night. Typical!

Pomegranate Kale Salad

I made this recipe for Christmas day and it was a big hit. The Pomegranate Bandit Strikes again!

New iphone!

Finally. Bad time for me to be spending money on this, but I did have an upgrade, and desperately needed a new phone. I ended up with the 5s and after pawing through the limited selection of 5s cases at Marshall’s, found this purple glittery one. It’s definitely the most girly thing I own.

Twin Reunion

Caitlin’s family came over to my mom’s for our annual Christmakkuh celebration which was awesome since we haven’t been so good about the “annual” part…but we all had a blast playing Cards Against Humanity (thanks Alex and Krysta!).

Peppermint Patties

These Creamy Dreamy Peppermint Patties were also a huge hit on Christmas day, and no one even knew the insides had cashews and coconut oil (until now). DK’s mom had given me a mini crock pot, which made melting chocolate stress-free. I highly recommend one if you melt chocolate often or have a dip that needs to stay warm!

Pomegranate Chocolate Bark

I had extra chocolate from the patties, so I spread it out and sprinkled pomegranate seeds on top. I’m not sure if I’d do it again though, because the seeds kept popping off when I broke the bark into pieces.

Other news:

  • I cut my hair. It’s collarbone length…you can kind of tell in the photo of me and Caitlin, but I will post a before/after soon! I’m still trying to figure out how to style it…
  • DK starts the fire academy today. I’m hoping he’ll have some new workouts for me…stay tuned for a firefighter circuit workout!
  • Two of my good friends got engaged over the break and it made the week all the more exciting. Congrats to both couples!
  • I finished the Dietbet challenge yesterday and weighed in at my goal. I have to say I’m glad it’s over, because my weight fluctuates so much on a daily basis that I was stressing big time over it. I actually bought skittles and some frozen greek yogurt bars yesterday in celebration, but weirdly I’m in no hurry to eat them. Now that I’m giving myself the go-ahead to eat “bad foods” I feel like I don’t really need to. Weird, right?

What was the best thing you ate over the last week?

What’s your most favorite holiday recipe?

Leave a Reply

