guess what I’m doing for money

Whoah whoah woah…I’m not doing THAT! Get your mind out of the gutter. Sick freaks.

I’m participating in Pumps & Iron’s DietBet this month. Basically, everyone pays in $25 to start, and we have until December 29th to lose 4% of our bodyweight. When it’s over, the winners who’ve reached their goal split the pot, which is up to $11,675. You can still join in!! Just sign up, weigh in, and start saying “no thank you” when someone offers you Christmas cookies. You can choose to display your weight or hide it on the website, and you can interact with other participants on facebook and twitter (or not).

I’d never heard of DietBet before, but I think it’s a great way to get motivated and stay accountable. Who’s not motivated by money? I’m the kind of person that needs a reason to lose or maintain weight, like a tropical vacation. The last time I really cracked down was before our trip to the Dominican Republic. The weight came right off thanks to P90X and clean eating! Unfortunately, it came right back on again.

inspiration | the pomegranate bandit

I know how to lose weight. I’ve done it before, and I know I can do it again. It’s just a matter of doing it. And what better time than now? This way, I’ll remember the bet whenever there are holiday treats in the office. I’ll have it in the back of my mind when I steer clear of the bakery at the grocery store. At holiday parties, I won’t go overboard at the dessert table.

So who’s with me?

Check out the website and sign up!

DietBet

10 thoughts on “guess what I’m doing for money

  1. I was really thinking about signing up for the DietBet. I just don’t think I have the motivation to say no to Christmas cookies! Such a double edged sword. I’m excited to hear about your progress though! 🙂

  2. Pingback: what I ate wednesday | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: what I ate sunday [WIAW #2] | The Pomegranate Bandit

  4. Pingback: a vicious cycle: trying to find balance | The Pomegranate Bandit

  5. Pingback: christmas recap, recipe reviews, and random musings | The Pomegranate Bandit

  6. Pingback: thinking out loud #3 | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

