I’m thankful for Thanksgiving

Today is Thanksgiving, my most favorite holiday of them all. Ever since I can remember, we’ve done Thanksgiving dinner with my mother’s side of the family at our house.

It’s your typical traditional Thanksgiving feast that begins when my cousins arrive to pop the champagne on our back deck, competing for who can shoot the cork furthest onto our pool cover (bonus if you hit the diving board). Chaos transpires in the kitchen as we bustle around the simmering pots to prepare the various side dishes while my uncle carves the turkey. The clock strikes 12 and someone turns up the radio because it’s time for our annual sing-along to Alice’s Restaurant. After the 18 minute song is over, and newcomers to the family are officially freaked out, we load up our plates and sit down to eat. When I’ve eaten several helpings of my mother’s sweet potato surprise, I help clear the table and do dishes. Someone is assigned the duty of reminding everyone to write what they’re thankful for in the Thanksgiving book, and we reminisce on entries from years past. Then desserts are brought out, followed by a priceless game of Catch Phrase. Friends arrive to join our game and the hilarity ensues. Before I know it, my eyelids feel heavy and we head home. Another Thanksgiving come and gone.

This year, I’m thankful for Thanksgiving.

I’m thankful for my mother who has kept these special traditions up all these years.

I’m thankful for my crazy family, whom I spend it with.

I’m thankful for Alice’s Restaurant, even though DK was a little weirded out the first time he was present for the sing-along.

I’m thankful for sweet potato surprise…even though the surprise is the calories (not a pleasant surprise).

I’m thankful for my trainer because he personally gave me permission to eat pie and cookies today…and that makes me feel way less guilty.

I’m thankful that Hanukkah will only be on Thanksgiving once in my lifetime, because combining two holidays is stressful enough when you already celebrate Hanukkah and Christmas.

Happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a good night! Wait…

I'm Thankful for Thanksgiving | The Pomegranate Bandit

2 thoughts on “I’m thankful for Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: F-word marathon | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: 20 things I’m grateful for | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

