vitacost finds: new favorite shampoo & conditioner

I haven’t done a vitacost post in a while because I always order the same stuff. This time, I ordered some new shampoo and conditioner as well as my favorite protein powder. I usually get the protein from bodybuilding.com, but it’s easier to just get it from vitacost since I get free shipping.

I’ve been having a sort of shampoo identity crisis since I read something about wen being a complete scam. (I’d been using wen cleansing conditioner for about 6 months and loved that it was all natural and didn’t use sulfates, but apparently they do! Liars) I really want a hair product that’s not some cheap drugstore brand, but I don’t want to spend a zillion dollars at a salon either.

I decided to turn to vitacost and check out their reviews. Desert Essence had lots of praise,  so I ordered some shampoo and conditioner in their coconut scent. Oh my god, it’s amazing. I’m obsessed. It smells exactly like the taste of white gummy bears. That’s the only way to describe how good it smells, seriously. I have a lot of hair, but it only takes a tiny amount of shampoo to lather my whole head. Unlike wen cleansing conditioner, which says to “use 24 pumps” on their label…I thought it was a misprint when I first read it, but they ain’t kiddin. Desert (I keep wanting to type Dessert instead of Desert) Essence is also ten times cheaper than wen (and probably all other expensive shampoo). I got my shampoo for $3.97 and the conditioner for $4.67 on vitacost.com, but you can also get it at Whole Foods if you feel like paying double the price. That’s no exaggeration, I actually saw it there for $9.99 each.

my new favorite shampoo | The Pomegranate Bandit

This shampoo is gluten free and 100% vegan, and also free of sulfates and all those harmful chemicals. On top of that it makes my hair super shiny and soft. Although, that could be attributed to the cold weather. I think I need to take a tropical vacation to test this theory in humid weather. Is winter over yet?

It totally sounds like I was sponsored to write this, but I wasn’t. Maybe they’ll send me some free shampoo if they see this…Desert Essence people! Are you reading this? I love your coconuts!

Okay, getting off track here. I ordered some other things on vitacost too. Like my usual three jars of Once Again Organic peanut butter (normally $9.99 at Whole Foods, I got them for $7.69 each), and three bags of Bob’s Red Mill old fashioned rolled oats (also saved a few bucks on these too). I also got this Stash ginger peach green tea because it had good reviews, but I could do without it. I’m really excited about this giant 5 pounds of protein powder too, I literally just ran out. I will be transferring it to my pretty glass jar immediately.

things I got on Vitacost | The Pomegranate BanditSo much protein powder. And all that peanut butter should last a few months…I go through that stuff pretty fast since I use it on toast, in smoothies and oatmeal, and straight out of the jar. Anyway, the whole point of this post is that I order this stuff because it’s so much cheaper than getting it in the store, and it’s also hard to find some of these things in the first place. Check it out, you might find something great!

Leave a Reply

