weekly food prep

Today my blog is featured on the Lean Green Bean as part of the Sunday Food Prep Inspiration. Be sure to head on over there and check out the rest of Lindsay’s blog. There are a lot of awesome recipes and helpful tips!

My mom loves to use the expression “fail to plan, plan to fail.” I hate to admit it, but she’s so right, especially when it comes to food and fitness. Planning a weekly menu and prepping a few things at the beginning of the week is the best thing you can do for yourself.

Each Sunday, I plan our weekly dinners and make a grocery list so I don’t end up buying tons of crap we don’t need. I map out the meals based on our schedule. I plan easy things for the nights when DK has EMT course, like a crockpot meal, so we can eat as soon as I get home from work before he jets off to class. I plan to make extra on purpose so I can take the leftovers for lunch, and then I don’t have to worry about rushing to put something together in the morning.

Turkey Chili | The Pomegranate Bandit

On Sundays, I like to prepare a few things for the week like hardboiled eggs and homemade protein balls. Usually our Sunday dinner is something that has a lot of leftovers, like Turkey Chili, so I already have my lunch ready for the next two days. Cooking up some rice for the week is smart because cold rice that’s a few days old is best for making stir fry.

Sunday Food Prep | The Pomegranate Bandit

I got these ceramic egg cartons at Home Goods. I have a green one too, so I always make sure I remember which one has the hard boiled eggs.

Energy Balls

plane snacks!

Whenever I travel, I bring plenty of healthy snacks like these since I don’t know what kind of food will be around. This is what I brought for my 6 hour plane ride to LA last august.

Happy prepping!!

Leave a Reply

