why new england is better than anywhere else

I eat an apple every day. No exaggeration. Year-round, I buy them at the store. But every true New Englander knows that fall is where it’s at. It’s apple season, folks, and I’m going to enjoy those sweet, local, crispy orbs of fruit until I turn into an apple like Violet Beauregarde turned into a blueberry. Okay, now I really want to watch that movie (not the Johnny Depp version, because….no).

Anyway, my poor boyfriend has been busy 24/7 with work and EMT class, but we finally found the time this Sunday to go apple picking at Shelburne Farm in Stow, MA. The weather was perfect, and the apples were plentiful this year. We got tons of Macs and Macouns, and a few Courtlands for apple crisp. And we wouldn’t dare miss out on the warm apple cider donuts! I ate six this weekend. Oops.

Shelburne Farm, Stow, MA | The Pomegranate Bandit

Yesterday, we went to yet another apple orchard, except this one is also a winery. Add some sort of chocolate shop and they’ll hit the trifecta! Each year on Columbus Day, my family gathers at Nashoba Valley Winery for a picnic of delicious food and of course, wine. DK and I brought some cheese, crackers and grapes in this little antique picnic basket he bought for me up north. I ended up buying a Cabernet Sauvignon and DK tried one of their craft beers.

Nashoba Valley Winery | The Pomegranate Bandit

I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend with friends and family!

What would you make with all these apples?

Leave a Reply

