apple cheddar gourmet grilled cheese

Apple Cheddar Grilled Cheese | The Pomegranate Bandit

Grilled cheese was one of my all time favorite meals when I was a kid. I was really picky and hated trying new things, so my parents joked that I would order a grilled cheese on my first date (luckily by then I had expanded my palate). My mom used to make a version of this classic sandwich with cinnamon raisin bread and apples. I decided to remake it a little healthier using Ezekiel bread. This sandwich and paired with butternut squash soup makes for the perfect soup and sandwich combo. Take that, Panera!

ingredients:

  • two slices of Ezekiel bread
  • a nice cheddar
  • brie cheese
  • spreadable butter
  • 1 apple

directions:

Spread butter on one side of each bread slice. Heat a pan on medium/high, and while it warms up, cut your cheddar cheese into thin slices. Spread a little bit of brie on one slice of bread, and the cheddar slices on the other. Slice your apple very thin and put one layer of slices on the cheddar. Close your sandwich, put it on the pan, and cover with a lid or tinfoil. This is a good time to eat the rest of the apple. Flip the sandwich after 2 minutes (or when it’s browned), and cook for another 2 minutes. Cut in half and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “apple cheddar gourmet grilled cheese

  1. I work with a club on my campus called FeelGood that sells grilled cheese and all of the money goes to end world hunger sustainably in partnership with The Hunger Project. Long story short, my favorite sandwich we have on the menu has cheddar, apples, and cinnamon sugar. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

