it will happen

It’s getting harder to get up in the morning for that 6am gym sesh…mainly because when I wake up at 5:30 it’s DARK. A few weeks ago I had no problem springing out of bed smiling at the sunshine singing “life is beautiful!” JK, it wasn’t really like that but you get my point. Now, waking up is ugly. I groan as I hit the snooze button (technically not a button, but my iphone…I have mastered “the slide” in my sleep) and then I fall out of bed at the last possible second that will not screw up my morning routine.

This morning, I was still half asleep when I got to the gym. I actually don’t remember driving there. Anyway, once I got my heart pumping on the bench press, I started to feel alive. So alive in fact, that I decided to go for a run outside after my chest workout. I signed up for a 5k at the end of the month, so I should probably train or something to make sure I can still run three miles without dying. I drove back home so I could run my usual 3 mile loop.

It amazes me how much power the mind has. When I started running, I told myself I would complete the three miles, because I have done it many times before. And I did. There were a few moments of doubt during the last mile, but I pushed through. My inner ears were hurting pretty bad (why does this happen? Is it my earbuds or the cold?), but other than that, I felt pretty good.

You hear it all the time: you can do anything you set your mind to. But executing this theory is an entirely different matter. You have to commit. You have to believe you can do it. You have to visualize it. And it will happen.

il_570xN.194461004

[image source]

2 thoughts on “it will happen

  1. Inspiring! Have you also heard of “mind over matter”? I also didn’t pay too much attention to it before but it is very true. The mind has a lot of power and people have to use it in a positive way. And it’s the earbuds. My inner ears hurt too when I wear them for too long at the gym lol.

Leave a Reply

