Los Angeles Adventures: Part 1

I have returned from my travels on the west coast with hundreds of photos but luckily for you I have narrowed it down to a select few. In unrelated news, I had scheduled three new posts for while I was away and didn’t realize that Thursday’s post about protein powder was my 100th post, which is crazy because I can’t believe I’ve written that much.

Saturday

I took off from Boston early in the morning, so by the time I got to LA it was only 11am there. Caitlin picked me up from LAX and on the way back to her apartment I experienced my first LILILA (lesson I learned in Los Angeles)…traffic is awful. We sat for a while but eventually made it out alive. We relaxed until it was time to go out and meet some of her friends at Shore Bar in Santa Monica. I was still on east coast time and exhausted from traveling, so it was kind of an early night for me, but nice to experience the nightlife.

Sunday

I woke up well-rested and ready for my vacation to begin. Caitlin and her boyfriend made me a delicious brunch of baked Bailey’s french toast and iced coffee. (yep, I started drinking coffee again) LILILA #2: coffee doesn’t need sugar when you grind your own beans. We spent the day at the beach and then settled in at home for a relaxing night in.

Monday

I was still not adjusting to the time change so I woke up early and set off for the gym to start the final week of my Livefit program. When I returned, Caitlin told me to keep my gym clothes on since we were going hiking. After breakfast, we hit the trails. Hiking in LA is so different from hiking in New Hampshire. It’s mostly open and the terrain is dusty, unlike the shady mountains and wet rocks I’m used to. LILILA #3: Don’t wear black sneakers when hiking in LA.

DSC_0040

We both struggled since we had already worked legs that morning, but the view at the top was totally worth the pain. (probably should’ve planned that a little better, whoops)

DSC_0028 DSC_0036

After the hike, we stopped and got In-and-Out burgers. We earned them.

That night, we went to the Virgil to see a comedy show hosted by Kristen Schaal. Look her up, you will recognize her. I’ll wait. Yeah, it’s that lady! She was hilarious and so were the other comedians. The Virgil had an awesome vibe and was small and intimate, my favorite type of venue. We got there early enough to score a booth in the back, check it out:

20130811-183546.jpg

And a blurry photo of Caitlin and I:

20130811-183557.jpg

Tuesday

We ventured out to Venice beach for some tourist action. It was JUST like the movies…so cliche. The outdoor gym cracked me up…muscle beach!

DSC_0056

We found the cutest little vegan Thai place off of the strip, and stopped in for some grub. I ordered Massaman Curry with tofu (I think I prefer the chicken one, this was a bit weird).

DSC_0076

We headed home for another low key night of froyo and Bob’s Burgers. Has anyone seen that show? Hilarious.

Stay tuned for part two!

6 thoughts on “Los Angeles Adventures: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Los Angeles: Part 2 | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: staying healthy on vacation | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: switching it up | The Pomegranate Bandit

  4. Pingback: summer 2013 highlights | The Pomegranate Bandit

  5. Pingback: weekly food prep | The Pomegranate Bandit

  6. Pingback: christmas recap, recipe reviews, and random musings | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

