which protein powder to choose?

Drinking a protein shake is the fastest way to feed your muscles after a gym session since it is liquid and will be processed quicker. When choosing a protein powder, you want to look for high protein (duh) and low carbs and low sugar. When I first tried protein powder, I bought the Jillian Michaels brand. This one has 15g of protein, 3g of sugar, and 7g of carbs. The next time I bought powder, I was aiming for a plant-based protein that was non-GMO, and I found this:

swblend__08679.1331651275.1280.1280

The Sun Warrior protein was a healthier option, with only 4g of carbs, 3g sugar, and 15g protein but it tasted awful when mixed with water. I could only bear it if it was mixed with a smoothie.

When I started lifting weights at the gym, I needed a protein powder that actually had enough protein. My friend turned me on to Dymatize Iso-100 whey protein isolate. This stuff has 25g of protein, and ZERO grams of sugar or carbs! Bingo. I ordered the banana flavor (sounds weird, tastes amazing) and a giant tub of chocolate flavor a few months later. These have plenty of protein to feed my muscles after a gym session, and they taste SO good just mixed with water.

how to choose protein powder

Since I still have a huge bag vanilla Warrior Blend, I use that to make my protein pancakes on high carb days. There are still many more options for protein powder, but make sure you look for protein higher than 20g at best, and low sugar and low carbs.

One thought on “which protein powder to choose?

  1. Pingback: Los Angeles Adventures: Part 1 | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

