easy lunch ideas: volume 1

Going out for lunch is just not an option in my book. It’s a HUGE waste of money and calories. I bring my lunch every day, using leftovers from the night before, or whatever I happen to have in my kitchen. If I’m really screwed, I will go out, but it only happens a couple times a month.

I laughed at myself this morning as I scoured the fridge for food that could pass as a nutritious lunch. My eyes landed on the eggs, so I prepared a pot to boil them. Then I packed some carrots, but needed one more item to round out my meal. I didn’t have time to cook chicken…but I remembered I had bought tuna. I threw together a little tuna salad and boom, lunch. These are some of the random lunches I’ve had so far.

[EDIT: Check out Volume II for more easy, healthy lunch ideas!]

Easy Lunch Ideas

Salmon Salad

Baked salmon on top of baby spinach with sliced peppers and a tablespoon of pesto

salad

Baby spinach salad with grilled chicken, dried cranberries and hardboiled eggs, with banana chips and pistachios on the side

quinoa

Quinoa cooked in chicken stock with green beans and almonds

lunch

Baby spinach with peppers, hardboiled egg, and cranberries with strawberries and chocolate chips on the side

lunch idea

Baby carrots, watermelon and grapes, greek yogurt with fruit, and quinoa with green beans, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes and parmesan cheese

salad

Baby spinach salad with hardboiled eggs, grilled chicken, peppers, and parmesan cheese

lunch idea

Asian noodle bowl, greek yogurt topped with mango and raspberries, baby carrots and baby tomatoes

quinoa salad

Quinoa salad on a bed of baby spinach

Tuna Avocado

Tuna salad, guacamole, and hard boiled eggs

20130802-121522.jpg

Salad, baby carrots and hummus, and a larabar

20130802-121515.jpg

Baby spinach with cucumbers, baby tomatoes, and leftover salmon filet tossed with greek yogurt and balsamic vinegar

20130802-121507.jpg

Cucumbers and baby tomatoes tossed with greek yogurt and balsamic vinegar with rotisserie chicken and an orange

7 thoughts on “easy lunch ideas: volume 1

  1. Pingback: easy lunch ideas: volume II | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: Easy Healthy Lunch Ideas + Inspiration - Build Your Dream Body:

  3. Pingback: 5 tips to make food prep easier | The Pomegranate Bandit

    • Thanks, Susan! I just live baby spinach because it comes pre-washed in a box, and I hate washing lettuce. I also love it because I can saute it with some olive oil and garlic for a quick side dish if I need to use it up before it expires, and I can throw a handful into a smoothie for an extra boost!

Leave a Reply

