healthy (and easy) summer meals

Summer cuisine is my favorite because it’s low maintenance. Throw some meat on the grill…toss some veggies together for a salad…cut up some fruit for dessert, done deal. Last night, DK was out for the night so I spent the evening prepping my lunches for the rest of the week. First, I made myself some dinner. I had bought salmon burgers at Trader Joe’s and decided to give them a try.

Salmon Burgers

I cooked it up and put it on a bed of leftover lettuce from DK’s dad’s garden, and then topped it with gorgonzola crumbles, dried cranberries, sliced almonds, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

Salmon burger salad

So good and satisfying! These patties are perfect for nights like this when I’m in a pinch and it’s just me. I bed it would be good on ezekiel bread as well.

After I ate, I started prepping. I had two recipes that planned to make this week: Kale Salad with Maple Almond Vinaigrette and Curried Sweet Potato Salad. Both recipes were quick and easy to prepare, with the exception of waiting for potatoes to boil and cool. I’ve also never ever had brussel sprouts (shocking, right?), and the kale salad called for 2 cups of them, so it took me a while to slice them up.

food prep

Three days of lunch, done. Feels nice to not have to worry about that for the rest of the week!

 

Leave a Reply

