overcoming fear of the gym

Guess what? I’ve officially graduated from at-home workouts! A couple weeks ago I had mentioned my gym trial at a large gym near the office, and another smaller one near my house. I ended up picking the smaller one for the convenience, but before I jump into the gym talk, let me explain how I got to this point…

For the past three years, I’ve been a big advocate of at home workouts. They’re basically free, there’s no commute, you don’t have to share equipment, and no one stares at you. It started with Billy Blanks, the same DVD repeated five days a week for months straight. I moved on to Jillian Michaels, and rotated two of her DVDs for a few months. Then I found Insanity, and loved having a variety of DVDs and a set program. Eventually that got tiring as well and I realized I needed more strength training in my routine, so I began designing my own workouts that incorporated moves from the DVDs as well as more weight training. A year later, I still needed more guidance and wanted to get ripped before my vacation…enter P90X. I did about 12 weeks of the program, and could feel myself getting stronger as I increased my weights. The only issue was that I had a set of 3, 5, and 8 lb weights, and I didn’t want to keep buying heavier ones. I started to realize how limited I was by doing strength training in my living room, and decided it was time to join a gym.

workout

The last time I had a gym membership was in college, and thats because it was included in my tuition. I went there after class, to do 45 minutes of cardio, a few crunches in the studio, and call it a day. One time, I was feeling daring and tried a leg machine that was on the perimeter of the weight section, but I never went any further than that. I thought I could get skinny by just doing cardio, and I did crunches in attempts to grow abs.

So now that I am older and wiser (what? three years makes a HUGE difference!), I have learned that I was wrong before. Cardio won’t make me skinny, and lifting WON’T make me “bulk up.” With this valuable information, I knew I needed to focus on diet and strength training. My friend had great results with Jamie Eason’s Livefit trainer program, so that’s what I’ve been doing for the past two weeks so I know what to do in the weight room. So far, I love it. The first phase of the program requires no cardio. That’s right, not a bit. Which is fine by me. I’m now completely comfortable using all those scary looking weight machines, and I actually look forward to my workouts (even though I’m up before the sun).

gym selfie

So, if you’re looking to get in shape, don’t obsess over cardio like I did. It won’t get you very far! You need to train your muscles…and women, no, you won’t look like a man because women don’t have testosterone, which is what makes men so big. Join a gym, and overcome that fear by going with a friend or scheduling a personal training session. You got this.

4 thoughts on “overcoming fear of the gym

  1. Pingback: fitness survey | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: Jaime Eason’s Livefit Trainer: review | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: switching it up | The Pomegranate Bandit

  4. Pingback: workout makeover | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

