reflections and new beginnings

Last week was unreal. From the moment I heard of the Boston Marathon Bombing, I could not tear myself away from the news or the radio. At first, it felt like I was just watching a TV show, but as the story developed and photos appeared online, it became very real. When the suspects were identified and involved in a shootout, it became a nightmare. While I’m obviously affected by horrible tragedies like the Newtown and Colorado movie theater shootings, this one hit close to home because Boston is literally close to home. It’s awful that things like this happen all the time in certain countries, and now I know how those people feel everyday, living in fear.

It’s crazy that this all happened over the course of one week, and now here we are, at the start of a new week and back to the usual routine. Of course, for the victims and others directly affected, life will never be normal again. But for me, it almost feels like last week didn’t happen, except for the reminders on social media feeds and news stations. It’s still on my mind, but at the same time, I’m thinking was that real? I don’t know if I’m the only one feeling like this. It’s just so surreal.

In unrelated news, I have three days until vacation. I’m trying really hard to be excited, but I’m actually just anxious for anything that could possibly go wrong. I really miss being a kid, without a care in the world. This weekend, I ran some last minute errands and did some packing. I planned out three healthy dinners for the week, and bought plenty of fruits and veggies to snack on. This is what my lunch looks like today:

20130422-083048.jpgThe key to eating healthy is planning ahead. I always pack plenty of healthy foods for the day to avoid trips to the vending machine. Today, I’ve got my morning greek yogurt with mangos and pomegranate, carrots and peppers for a snack, baby tomatoes for another snack, asian noodle bowl leftovers for lunch, and an apple for an afternoon snack. I’ve also started bringing my Nalgene bottle full of water from the Brita instead of plastic bottles (p.s. happy Earth Day!). Lately at work, I’ve been snacking more than usual. I eat four snacks a day in addition to meals, so anything more than that is too much. I realized I’ve been using food as an excuse to get up from my desk, so I’m trying to drink more water to keep myself full. I still get a break from my desk, but I’m heading to the bathroom instead of the candy bowl.

I really hope this week is better than last week for everyone. Get to the gym and sweat it out, make a new recipe you’ve never tried before, or call an old friend you haven’t talked to in a while. Life is short, live it up!

One thought on “reflections and new beginnings

  1. Didn’t it feel like the longest week ever? By Tuesday, I had completely forgotten what I’d done the previous weekend. I agree, looking back now it feels like a dream. A really bad dream..

Leave a Reply

