salmon salad and homemade dressing

I buy fresh wild salmon in bulk and then freeze individual portions since I’m the only one in our house who eats it. Sometimes I bake it with vegetables for dinner, or I’ll bake the salmon in the morning while I work out to put on my lunch salad. Just coat the fish in olive or coconut oil, season with salt and pepper (I add red pepper flakes as well) and put on a foil lined baking sheet. Pop it in a cold oven and set to 400 for 25 minutes.

 Salmon Salad

For a salad, use mixed greens or baby spinach as your base, and add any of these ingredients: goat cheese or feta cheese crumbles, chopped peppers, cucumbers, sugar snap peas, roasted asparagus, carrots, hard boiled egg, chopped almonds, pecans, walnuts or pine nuts, and dried cranberries. By the way, the apple juice sweetened cranberries I bought on vitacost are way better than Craisins, taste wise and health wise. Definitely going to be a regular purchase.

Top your salad with the baked salmon, hot or cold. You may think cold cooked salmon sounds gross, but it’s actually really good on salad! Now for the dressing. A drizzle of pesto or balsamic vinegar works wonders, or you could make your own dressing. I started making my own because I don’t want all the extra sugar and preservatives that come with store bought dressing. It’s also incredibly easy to make your own dressing, here’s how:

ingredients

  •  1 teaspoon honey
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • minced shallots (I actually use dried shallots and they work just as good)
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Add all ingredients to a small mason jar, screw on the lid, and shake it like a polaroid picture. When there is no visible separation, it’s ready. I never use much dressing, so this makes enough for three salads for me. I just keep the jar in the fridge for the week’s salads.

Leave a Reply

