smoothie/oatmeal/coffee bar

I make smoothies on a daily basis, so I developed this habit of leaving the dry ingredients on the counter. I was sick of the clutter so I created this beverage bar with my Keurig, blender, and juicer.

DSC_1232

Except my juicer broke, and I also use these ingredients to make oatmeal, so that’s why this is a smoothie/oatmeal/coffee bar. Come summer, it might also turn into an actual bar, when I’ll be making my skinny watermelon martinis (trust me, you WANT this recipe). I put the dry ingredients into cute jars that sit in the coca cola tray so I don’t have to look at the packaging. Everything is right where I need it with easy access to the refrigerator/freezer for milk and frozen fruit.

Smoothie Bar!

These are the ingredients I keep on hand:

  • ground flaxseed (Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • chia seeds
  • protein powder
  • unsweetened cocoa powder
  • PB2
  • organic natural peanut butter
  • raw all natural almond butter (Trader Joe’s is the best & cheapest)

Other ingredients I keep in my pantry:

  • unsweetened organic shredded coconut (I can never find this in the baking section, but it’s usually with the organic nuts and dried fruit at Market Basket)
  • old fashioned rolled oats (Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • back up peanut butter and almond butter

Both of us stopped drinking coffee so the Keurig doesn’t get used anymore, but I have a feeling I’ll be craving some iced coffee on the first hot day, so I kept it out. I make a mean mocha protein smoothie (another recipe to look forward to!).

If you’re looking to become healthier and/or lose a few pounds, I strongly suggest investing in a blender if you don’t have one. Mason jars are cheap and make for a perfect smoothie vessel since they fit most standard blenders (the regular mouth, not the wide mouth!).

smoothie bar!

my two favorite smoothies:

oatmeal

A bowl of oats is the best breakfast you can have because it’s full of fiber and keeps you full. Top it with some ground flax, chia seeds, fruit, and/or nut butter and you’re all set. I’ve even added protein powder to mine. Be sure to buy old fashioned oats, not the instant kind that come pre-sweetened. If you’re looking for a touch of sweetness, just add swirl of honey or agave nectar.

2 thoughts on “smoothie/oatmeal/coffee bar

  1. Pingback: blueberry muffin oats | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: Goji Mango Super Smoothie | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

