green smoothie recipe

Green Protein Smoothie

My mom always made green pina coladas on St. Patrick’s day to celebrate the holiday and signify the beginning of spring. I loved this tradition so I thought I’d bring it back in a healthier version. In honor of St. Paddy’s day, I thought I’d share my green smoothie recipe. I make one of these every morning after my workout on the weekdays. It’s a full meal that’s ready in minutes, and there’s only one dish to wash. If I’m running late, I can just take it with me!  I like my smoothies sweet and creamy like a milkshake, and sometimes I add spinach for an extra boost of nutrition (I promise you can’t taste it at all). The banana provides sweetness, the chia seeds absorb the milk and make it nice and thick, and the flaxseed meal is great for digestion (only one of its many health benefits).

Grab a mason jar (regular mouth, not wide), toss in these ingredients, and screw it onto your blender for a delicious meal to take on the go or enjoy freshly made!

Add ingredients in this order:

  • 1 frozen banana (use half a banana for a smaller mason jar)
  • 1 handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1 cup almond milk (enough to just barely cover the bananas)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp ground flaxseed meal
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (chocolate works too!)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Some tips:
I did my best to guess the measurements listed above, but to be honest, I never measure when I make the smoothie. I have banana pieces in my freezer at all times and I just throw 4-5 two-inch pieces in there depending on the size of the piece. I keep my chia seeds and my ground flax in jars, and I just shake a little bit into the mason jar. The most important thing is to make sure you have enough liquid, but not too much or it won’t be thick enough. I pour in my almond milk until I can only see a small bit of banana, and then I add the other ingredients. If your blender is having trouble mixing everything, add a bit more milk.

Green Protein Smoothie Recipe

Download the printable version and tape it on the inside of your pantry for easy access!

5 thoughts on “green smoothie recipe

  1. Pingback: peanut butter smoothie | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: smoothie/oatmeal/coffee bar | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: Trader Joe’s healthy staple items | The Pomegranate Bandit

  4. Pingback: the smoothie formula | The Pomegranate Bandit

  5. Pingback: tropical green smoothie | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

