vitacost finds & frozen pb cup treats

I heard about Vitacost a long time ago but never got around to ordering anything. Last week, I finally found the time to browse their selection and take advantage of a 15% off sale plus free shipping. I was so excited to see the package waiting for me when I got home yesterday. Check it out:

vitacost finds

Everything was so much cheaper than it is in the grocery store, especially Yogi tea, which is my favorite brand of green tea. I’ve been looking for PB2 in stores for the longest time, so I was pumped about that (it came with two). PB2 is essentially powdered peanut butter. It’s great for baking or adding to yogurt, smoothies, or ice cream. I was a little miffed when I saw sugar in the ingredients, but it can’t be that much because it only has 1g per serving, oh well.

I also couldn’t find unsweetened dried cranberries anywhere, so I figured these ones sweetened with apple juice were my best bet. I love putting them on salads with a little goat cheese and balsamic vinegar.

Unsweetened carob chips are new to me, and the reviews said they are just as good as chocolate chips but without the added sugar. So when I ripped open the package, I immediately dug into these little devils. My first reaction was whoah these are weird, I don’t like them. Then I had a few more, and I thought hmm I kind of like these…and then I proceeded to shove another handful down my throat, resulting in a stomach ache. So I’m not sure how I feel about these yet.

I also bought organic almond extract because I love all things almond flavored. Another ingredient to experiment with!

The rolled oats were much cheaper than at the store, so I had to stock up. This is a pantry staple for us.

The Sun & Earth cleaner is my favorite natural cleaner. It smells like oranges, not nasty windex.

Last night I made a little treat after dinner using my PB2. I call it: frozen peanut butter cup.

Here’s how to make it:

Frozen PB Cup Recipe

I’ve seen versions of this all over Pinterest using frozen greek yogurt or banans and stevia, etc. but I like my version best. And on the first try! Who knew? I will never buy frozen yogurt at the grocery store again!

3 thoughts on “vitacost finds & frozen pb cup treats

  1. Pingback: salmon salad and homemade dressing | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: Trader Joe’s healthy staple items | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: friday favorites | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

