homemade protein bars

homemade protein bars

The protein bars sold in stores are perceived as healthy, but that’s far from the truth. Many are packed with unknown chemicals and added sugar. The best way to ensure you’re getting proper nutrition from your protein bar is to make it yourself!

I have about a million variations of these, but this one is my favorite so far. I used to make these energy balls all the time, but rolling them into balls gets tedious. I developed this recipe in attempts to save time and cut down on the sugar. Each bar only has 11 grams of sugar but it comes from the dates and the honey, which keeps the bars together. Oh, and the chocolate chips, but those are for taste.  Since they’re sweet, I consider them a treat. They’re perfect for squashing cookie cravings!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal
  • 7 medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1/3 cup natural peanut butter (any nut butter will do)
  • 2 T honey (or agave syrup)
  • 2 T mini chocolate chips

Blend oats and coconut in a food processor until it resembles a coarse powder. Add dates and blend together. Mix all ingredients in a bowl until it starts to get doughy, and then press into a lined square baking pan. You might need to add more honey or agave syrup if the mixture is still to crumbly.

DSC_1158

Refrigerate for 30 minutes and then slice into 16 even squares. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.

DSC_1162

I keep a little cheat sheet taped to the inside of my pantry since I make these so often. Click here to download one for yourself!

12 thoughts on “homemade protein bars

  1. Pingback: formula for protein bars (or energy balls) | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: thinking out loud | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: easy lunch ideas: volume II | The Pomegranate Bandit

  4. Pingback: Apricot Cookie Protein Bites | The Pomegranate Bandit

  5. I just made these today and sadly even with adding the extra honey it was still as dry as cereal. I ended up adding more peanut butter (didn’t make much difference) so I threw in some coconut milk. It still wasn’t the right texture to push into a tray but it did stick together so I made protein balls, YUM!
    Delicious recipe that I’ll come back to again, thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Hannah! So glad you tried them! There are so many variables with this recipe…sorry you had difficulties. Try more dates next time! The ones you used might have been smaller and drier than the ones I used in my original recipe. Apricots work wonders and make the mixture extra sticky, like in my newest recipe for apricot protein balls. Best of luck!

  6. Pingback: 25 Wholesome Homemade Protein Bar Recipes | Bembu

    • I put them into MyFitnessPal! Each one has 126 calories, 24g carbs, 6g fat, 5g protein, 11g sugar, and 7g sodium. I hope that helps!

  7. These look amazing and I really want to try them. Unfortunately I don’t have any flaxseed meal on hand. What role is it supposed to play in this recipe and do you possibly have any recommendations for substitutions I can make? I was also wondering if you know how well they freeze, since I don’t know how fast I’ll go through them?

    • Vic, you can omit the flaxseed although it does have many health benefits which is why I use it. Instead, I would just use more oats in its place. I haven’t tried to freeze them, but they do last up to two weeks in the fridge!

Leave a Reply

