a wonderful weekend

I feel like I’ve been in hibernation this winter. In the warmer months, I’m outside everyday walking or running, or just relaxing on the farmer’s porch. But in winter, I’m lazy, cold, and sleepy. The past few weekends I was sick or snowed in, catching up on all my tv shows on the DVR. On Monday, I had just watched the season finale of Downton Abbey (OMG WTF), and immediately started watching season one of Game of Thrones since Verizon gave me HBO for a few months randomly. So I watched 7 episodes this week and on Friday, I knew I didn’t want to start off the weekend glued to the tv.

I had wanted to see the Cezanne exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, so on a whim, we decided to head into the city Friday evening. Because of all the snow storms, DK has been plowing a lot so we haven’t really had a nice night out together, especially doing something like this. I didn’t expect him to be too excited about it, but he surprised me as usual and was very interested in the White Mountains exhibit, which was pretty cool! We saw the painting I had come for, as well as my other favorites at the MFA.

bathersPaul Cezanne’s The Large Bathers

mfaHaving fun with large paintings…I don’t even know what’s going on with my face here. I look like a goat.

On our way out, I noticed a sign for a postcard exhibit that I had missed on the way in. We were hungry and wanted to head to dinner, but I was intrigued so we popped in to check it out. I was in designer’s heaven. The vintage illustrations, the typography…it was amazing. I wanted to stay there for hours, or buy all of them. I’m pretty sure they aren’t for sale, but I’m strongly considering starting a postcard collection.

photo 5

Eventually our stomachs won the battle, so I opened up yelp to find a hip spot to eat, and found Lucky’s Lounge. It sounded so cool, no sign on the door, good drinks, laid back…so we headed over. When we finally found it (“Is this it? Why’d we pick a spot with no sign? I think it’s it. You go in first. Ok, I’ll go in”), it was PACKED, and the wait was 45 minutes. We hopped back in the car, I surrendered yelp control to DK, and within seconds he had found a place and made reservations. Five minutes later we were sitting inside Morton’s Steakhouse and I was sipping a ginger-politan (omg amazing).

mortons

He ordered the steak, I ordered the salmon, and we chowed on a giant roll of bread while we waited. Seriously, it was bigger than my head. I typically avoid the bread basket (took years of will power) but this time I gave in. Hey, I’m on vacation. Oh wait, not yet. Anyway, despite the astronomical prices, we very much enjoyed our fancy night out. The food was amazing and we left with full bellies and smiling faces. Bonus: I had plenty left over for lunch on saturday, which also allowed me to take a photo in better lighting:

Salmon

The salmon came with a corn and bean relish which I would very much like to learn to make. Tasted even better the second day! Saturday night we were expected a giant storm (what else is new) and I planned to spend the evening with my girlfriends for a good old fashioned sleepover. We got takeout from Blue Taleh, a Thai/Japanese restaurant within walking distance from my friends apartment. I ordered Massaman Curry with chicken and brown rice. Delicious, as usual. And I had leftovers! We watched a few movies, including Pitch Perfect, followed by our own attempt of a cappella singing (let’s leave it to the professionals…).

When I got back home this morning, I was thrilled to see a package waiting for me. My new bathing suit has arrived from Victoria’s Secret! April can’t come soon enough. It’s no secret they have great suits (sorry, had to), and they are the only place that I can count on to carry my size so when I saw this bandeau, I jumped on it. Only two months until I can test it out…

photo 3

Oh, remember that time I said I was going to do P90X? Well, I’ve stuck with it, and completed week one. Take THAT, jiggly bits. I can definitely feel results already. After my workout today, DK and I headed to the grocery store and I got myself this little treat:

chocolate pomegranate

These things are awesome. And pomegranates are out of season, so I have to get my fix somewhere…and covered in chocolate? Double whammy. I made beef and broccoli for dinner, and it wasn’t really anything to write home about. Maybe I’ll attempt to fix it up a bit. Here’s the menu for the rest of the week:

monday: chicken parm

tuesday: italian wedding soup

wednesday: baked chicken with quinoa and peppers

thursday: moose stew

friday: homemade pizza

Hope everyone has a great week, toodles!

Leave a Reply

