crunch time

Valentine’s day has come and gone, and I sort of fell off the wagon this weekend, but there is a vacation on the horizon! I have two months to firm and tighten before I head to Punta Cana with my boyfriend and seven of our friends.

This morning I planned out this week’s healthy dinners on google calendar, went grocery shopping. I loaded up on a LOT of fresh produce to cook with, snack on, and juice with!

Screen shot 2013-02-17 at 8.28.21 PM

Planning for each week is KEY to staying on track. That way, when I come home each night I already know what I’m making and the ingredients are all there for me. It saves me from buying too much at the store, and from unhealthy impulse buys as well. My mom loves to say “fail to plan, plan to fail” in the way that mothers do. She’s right.

photo 1 (1)

I used to try to buy as little as possible to save money. I was worried that the fresh stuff would go bad before I could eat it and that would be money down the drain. Now I buy plenty so I always have something healthy to snack on, and it doesn’t go bad because I don’t want to waste any of it.

The past two weeks I’ve been doing less cardio and more weight training. Insanity workouts are more cardio based and don’t incorporate weights, so I’ve been doing Jillian Michaels workouts as well as my own circuits. I really want to focus on building lean muscle and incinerating fat. (I love that word; incinerate. It looks weird when I type it out but when I say it to myself as I work, out it helps me push harder)

I’ve had P90X leering at me from a shelf for almost a year, so I think it’s about time I try it out. After grocery shopping, I scheduled all the workouts on google calendar, and did the first workout today. It was completely different than Insanity…in a nutshell: I wasn’t covered in sweat but definitely felt my arms and abs burning! After the workout I made some juice with my fresh produce.

photo 2 (1)

I did laundry, and then made six breakfast sandwiches to freeze for DK to heat up in the morning before work. Such a productive day!

photo 3 (1)

Mmmm that is fresh. I was thinking about the progress I’ve made, and how I should make one of those before and after photo things…except this is like before, after, after, future. Apparently I sort of had abs when I was 16…oh to be young. I tried to find a bathing suit picture at my heaviest in 2010 (152 lbs), but I guess I deleted all the evidence, or prevented any photos from being taken! The photo I took today is the february 2013 one, at 132 lbs. I’m not really expecting to lose anymore weight, but I’m expecting some muscles to appear. So here we go…day one of p90x and hopefully by the time I head to Punta Cana in April I will look like the photo below.

progress-01

3 thoughts on “crunch time

  1. You can do it girl!!! Eating clean and healthy foods is almost more important than exercise…add in the exercise which you’re doing and theirs no way you won’t reach your goal! 🙂

  2. Pingback: guess what I’m doing for money | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

