mind power

The way you think has everything to do with who you become. I’ll be the first to admit, I trash talk myself after a night of binge eating or skipping a workout. The snowball effect takes place and all those nasty thoughts just funnel into a string of self deprecation, often leading to more binging. On the other hand, when I’m having a good day full of sunshine and rainbows, I feel as if I could conquer the world. It scares me that one mistake could tip the scale so drastically. Everything is great until I shovel six cookies into my mouth without thinking. Then the downward spiral begins, you’ve worked so hard and now you’re ruining it, you’re going to gain ten pounds for this, you’re powerless when it comes to sugar and there’s nothing you can do about it. Pretty harsh right? But tell me you’ve never thought the same things. You probably don’t even notice you do it. I don’t notice most of the time. This CAN’T be healthy.

Optimists live longer than pessimists. It’s been scientifically proven. I checked. If you’re not naturally born an optimist, you need to train your mind. I’ve done some mind bending before, making myself believe that I’d rather eat fresh fruits and vegetables than a greasy grilled cheese on white bread. Eventually it worked. After eating healthy for even just one week, my body began craving fresh produce, and my brain didn’t need convincing. So if I train my mind to only think positive thoughts, will it come naturally over time?

39305177649

I’m in a good place fitness-wise. I’ve worked hard to get here and I feel great physically, but maybe I’m a little too hard on myself sometimes. Even after treating myself, I feel the guilt. I can’t go out to a restaurant without first having a panic attack about what I’ll order. Even if I stick to a healthy option, I’ll convince myself the sauce must’ve had too much sugar in it, or the martini was a mistake because it filled me up before my meal even came.

2115535

I need to banish these thoughts and focus on the bigger picture. I worked out 6 days this week and ate very well. If I treat myself for one night it’s okay, it won’t make me gain ten pounds over night. Some people are the opposite, they eat out 6 days a week and workout once! A little self praise never hurt. Be good to yourself.

Leave a Reply

