stir crazy

Being cooped up for a whole weekend all alone kind of makes you go nuts. When I learned about Nemo (still can’t get over the name…really?), I knew DK would be out plowing for like a zillion years. I embraced the opportunity to have the place to myself and made a mental list of things to do. Here’s how it went…

On Friday night, in the midst of a blizzard, I booked a trip to Punta Cana with a group of friends. DK and I haven’t ever been on a real vacation together, so it’s about time!

Punta Cana

While I was on the phone with the travel agent, I started making dinner, which was….SALMON! I effin love salmon, but DK doesn’t, so I usually make it when he’s not home for dinner. I could eat salmon every night. I paired it with quinoa and asparagus.

DSC_1082

It was so quick and easy to make that I ended up eating it while I was still on the phone with the travel agent (sorry dude). All I did was coat the salmon and asparagus in olive oil, sprinkle roasted red peppers on the salmon, and pop it in the oven (not preheated) on a baking sheet and set it to 400 degrees for 25 minutes. While it was baking, I toasted 1/4 cup of quinoa in a small pan for a minute in a drizzle of olive oil, and then added 1/2 cup chicken broth with a few drops of soy sauce. I let it simmer after it started to boil, on low for about 15 minutes. I let it go for longer by accident so it browned a few pieces but it actually added a nice crunch to it!

I started Saturday off with a nice healthy breakfast and then an insanity workout once I digested. I was completely snowed so I cleaned the apartment and just relaxed.

photo (3) Image

I used leftover chicken and some baby spinach to make a salad for lunch and read A Light Between Oceans. This book is amazing, btw. You should read it, now.

DK finally came home around 4:00 so I heated him up some soup. He hadn’t eaten anything for 32 hours because all of the restaurants were closed due to the storm and he was so busy plowing…I should have given him snacks to take with him before he left. Bad girlfriend!

This morning, I woke up and made us breakfast, and then we shoveled a bit out front. He had to head out again to help with more snow removal, and I sped off to Marshall’s at last. I went a little crazy shopping for vacation clothes…and ended up going to the mall again later. oops. I’m actually returning a few things that I changed my mind about…so I don’t feel that bad. Check out the blue patterned pants…those are my new favorite thing ever.

photo (2)

DK got called again for snow removal tonight, so I had yet another solo dinner. This time it was grilled chicken with roasted sweet potatoes and asparagus. And I downloaded Wreck It Ralph, because I’m five…so I’m off to watch that, tootles!

2 thoughts on “stir crazy

  1. Pingback: salmon salad and homemade dressing | The Pomegranate Bandit

  2. Pingback: Trader Joe’s healthy staple items | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

