coffee franchise rants

I think it’s ironic that “America runs on Dunkin.’” First off, if you’re eating donuts, you’re not running anywhere. You might waddle, but run…no. Second…their coffee is horrible. I fully believe they’re only successful in their franchise (are they though?) because of the other things they offer on their menu. I don’t even want to get started on that, so for now, let’s stick to the drinks. Ah, the drinks. The Coolatta. The Vanilla Bean Coolatta weighs in at 420 calories for a SMALL. There you go, thats your breakfast. If you were smart, you’d trade the Coolatta for some whole wheat toast, eggs, some fruit, a cup of black coffee or tea, maybe a protein smoothie. All that for roughly the same amount. And if you make it at home, you’re probably paying the same amount.

Just look at the ingredients and tell me it sounds more appetizing:

INGREDIENTS: Frozen Neutral Base [Water, Neutral Base (Sugar, Glucose, Fructose, Silicon Dioxide, Malic Acid, Xanthan Gum)], Vanilla Bean Syrup [Sugar, Sweetened Condensed Skim Milk, Water, Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Salt], Light Cream [Milk, Cream, Disodium Phosphate (Stabilizer), Sodium Citrate (Stabilizer)].

Exactly.

dunks-01

Now, I PRAY that most of you already know this. America is finally becoming more health conscious, and we have been warned about the dangers of the frozen cafe beverage. But what about Starbucks? It’s healthy because it’s more expensive and they write your name on your cup, right? Wrong. Let’s look at their Vanilla Bean Creme Frappucino Blended Creme. Wow that’s a mouthful. I think they do that on purpose so you feel like an idiot when you order. Anyway, this one is 400 calories for a grande. They don’t have ingredients listed on their website (what does that tell you?), but they describe this as “A rich and creamy blend of vanilla bean, milk and ice. Topped with whipped cream.” Basically it has no nutritional value, except for the milk. You’re wasting 400 calories on ice and milk. 400 calories that could have been a wholesome meal.

bucks-01

So why do people want these drinks? Other than the fact that they taste good (if you’re into cavities), that white cup with the green logo is a fashion statement. It says “I’m sophisticated because I go to Starbucks and rattle off an impressive order specially made for me.” Call me cynical, but really…you don’t NEED these drinks. If you want coffee or tea, you can make it yourself, and save money!

a894a86a154d11e2a68422000a1fb163_7

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve fallen victim to the white cup/green logo charm. I HAD to have one at all times while in NYC, obviously. I think that’s the reason this picture was taken. I may or may not have kept the cup in hand a few hours after the drink was long gone. It feels good to be part of something. “Something” being the thousands of instagrams including the iconic cup.

Once I got over the novelty of the franchises, I discovered that I liked making it myself. I still go for the occasional Starbucks treat, but I prefer almond milk in my coffee, and they don’t have that at Starbucks or DD. Cutting out the daily trip to the bucks has been easy on my wallet and my waistline, now that I’m not tempted to get a Frozen Mochacino Super Latte with Sunshine Dust.

One thought on “coffee franchise rants

  1. Pingback: your pumpkin latte: 260 calories less | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

