my top apps for fitness

When the iphone first came out, I kind of thought it was ridiculous. Who needs all that extra stuff? After I started working, I decided I wouldn’t feel like a real designer until I had one. (back in the day before everyone and their mother had an iphone) Now that I have one, I couldn’t live without it. Well, I could live, I just wouldn’t be so healthy and awesome. Here’s how I use my iphone to stay on top of my workouts and eating right.

1. MyFitnessPal

This is used to log calories and exercise. You can scan barcodes to add food, search for a food, or add a recipe and it will calculate the calories and nutrition. I use this every single day. It’s the only way it can benefit you.

IMG_2541IMG_2540

When I first downloaded the app, I only used it here or there and would forget to update it, or I’d eat something unhealthy and feel guilty about logging it. I know that keeping a food diary is one of the top ways to lose a few pounds, and I was curious about how many carbs and grams of sugar I was eating each day so finally I stuck with it. The app tells you how many days in a row you log in, so when I hit 10, I figured, can’t stop now! At the end of the day, it tells me how many calories I burned and how many I consumed. When I remain within my calorie budget (the app calculates this based on your info) I feel a sense of pride and motivation for the next day. I know it’s not a 100% accurate, but it provides a wake up call when I log in 400 calories worth of cake or cocktails from the weekend. That’s enough to keep me eating healthy!

2. ShopWell

IMG_2545 IMG_2546

This app is my grocery store sidekick. You set up a profile and input your goals for eating healthy. When you scan an item at the store, it gives the item a grade based on it’s nutritional value and your profile standards. For example, one of my goals is to lower my sugar intake, so if I scan a box of oreos, the scores will be not so good. You can search items or browse categories, and the app will also tell you where you can buy the items you’re looking for.

3. Eat This, Not That!

IMG_2547 IMG_2548

Modeled after the books, this comes in handy when dining (if you want to call it that) at a chain restaurant. Though I tried to cut out those places all together, sometimes I hate to be the killjoy of the group. When this happens and I end up at Applebee’s with a panic attack over the menu, I pull up this app. It grades each item on the menu according to the nutrition and calories, so I can choose the healthiest option.

4. Interval Timer

IMG_2544 IMG_2543

I have the free version of this, but it does what I need it to. When I design my own circuit workouts, I can set the timer for the number of intervals, the time of each one, the break between circuits, etc. The customization is endless, which is great.

5. Nike Training Club


IMG_2550
IMG_2554

I like to switch up my workouts and this app has so many to choose from. You can choose a fitness level, a range of how long it is, and what areas you want to target. The best part? Each interval has a video that shows you how to do the move.

6. Calendar

IMG_2555

I use my google calendar to plan all my meals and workouts, so if I need to remind myself what dinner I’m preparing while I’m out, I can check it on my phone. I also have it set to text message me in the morning to remind me what workout I had planned to do when I wake up.

7. Pinterest

IMG_2556 IMG_2557

This is my favorite form of motivation. How can you not want to go work out after looking at all those fit ladies on the health and fitness boards? And all those photos of colorful fruit and veggies! This is also where I find most of my recipes. The only downside is all the tempting dessert pins…which makes me crave sweets. Must. Resist.

4 thoughts on “my top apps for fitness

  1. I love the Nike Training app – I used it in the summer a few times when we would work out, outdoors! Gives me so much motivation when I have to make up my own work out (which I suck at)…. In the winter I just take classes but I’ll be using that again come spring!!

  2. Pingback: first run of the season | The Pomegranate Bandit

  3. Pingback: Jaime Eason’s Livefit Trainer Update: Phase 3 | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

