a day in the life of my lunchbox

After this mornings workout, I blended up a protein shake to drink during my commute.

In the blender:

  • 3/4 of a frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop muscle milk protein powder (I usually use Jillian Michaels protein powder but I ran out and had to steal my boyfriends)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbs Trader Joe’s raw creamy almond butter

blender

Fun fact: mason jars fit in most blenders. This has changed my life.

I make this shake after every workout so sometimes I switch it up and use peanut butter in place of the almond butter, or I make a Pumpkin Cheesecake Smoothie which is essentially the same as above but I add a little DaVinci Sugar Free Pumpkin flavor syrup, and half a wedge of Laughing Cow light cream cheese.

When I got to work I made myself some Tazo Black Tea, sweetened with 1/2 a packet of stevia. (I’m trying to wean myself off sweeteners)

tea

Around 10:30 I had my daily greek yogurt topped with pomegranate arils. When I first started eating greek yogurt, I bought the individual Chobani with fruit inside. When I learned that yogurt with fruit has added sugar, I started buying just the large container itself, and I added my own fresh fruit. I started with Chobani, then moved on to Fage, and now I’m on to Dannon-Oikos. You’d think I would be sick of greek yogurt, but now it’s part of my daily routine.

greek yogurt

Lunch was my leftover butternut squash stew, and an apple for a snack an hour later.

photo 3 photo 4

 

When I got home from work at 5:30, I immediately made dinner and chowed down. Coconut Chicken on top of mixed greens with goat cheese and craisins, with a drizzle of barrel aged balsamic vinegar. SO GOOD.

Photo 2013-01-15 08.53.19 PM

After dinner I indulged in some trader joe’s dark chocolate with almonds while I worked on some freelance stuff. Might have also had a few of Donnie’s frozen gummy bears too…and that’s it, I swear!

6 thoughts on “a day in the life of my lunchbox

  1. Pingback: what I ate wednesday | The Pomegranate Bandit

Leave a Reply

