Sleep or sweat?

Some mornings it’s just not in the cards for me to work out. My alarm went off at 5:30 and I thought to myself, I could get up right now and work out, orrr I could sleep a bit more and then catch up on Grey’s Anatomy before work. The second option won. Sometimes that extra half hour of sleep is just what I need, rather than use up all my energy on a work out and struggle to keep my eyes open the whole day. Plus I really needed to see that episode.

On rest days, I try to sneak in at least some active time. Usually I’ll go for a walk around the neighborhood when the weather allows, or I’ll do one of the Insanity “Recovery” DVDs (Which is still basically a workout). But sometimes I just need to relax and let my muscles have a break. I’m not sure if I need a new mattress or if I’m working myself too hard, but I wake up every single morning feeling some form of soreness. I know if my quads hurt it’s from the squats I did the day before, but sometimes I can’t figure out where the pain is from. Once I get out of bed and stretch and get moving, it goes away. Maybe I’m just getting old, or maybe it’s time to take up Bikram Yoga again.

Do you find yourself feeling physically more tired as you age?

Leave a Reply

